Yii Framework Forum: FlexicaCMS - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (5 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

FlexicaCMS Rate Topic: ***** 2 Votes

#41 User is offline   mindplay 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 397
  • Joined: 03-September 09
  • Location:New York

Posted 24 July 2010 - 10:09 AM

View PostHudson Nguyen, on 11 July 2010 - 10:40 PM, said:

Thank all, I have started a new thread as version 0.3 released.

http://www.yiiframew...-v0-3-released/

Problem with PHP 5.3 should be resolved, installation wizard works smoother. We added multi-lingual content and RBAC with dynamic user roles.

Also, no more encrypted file and the community version is available in zip format for download with GNU GPL license :) .


I was very happy to see you're now releasing this project under a real open-source license.

But under the GPL license, if I make modifications to the CMS itself, I have to release the changed source code under GPL as well. GPL is dodgy in this area, but technically, you could even demand that any website built using this CMS has to be released with full source code under GPL to the public.

I don't think that's what you want, but under GPL, you can legally demand of anyone building a solution with this CMS, that they release the source code under GPL - that's why it's commonly referred to as a "share-alike" license.

Under GPL, I can only evaluate this CMS - I can't start building solutions for clients, since I would risk putting them (or me, or my employer) in legal trouble. I don't think GPL is a suitable license for "library" type products, unless you're going to dual-license this product, with an alternative paid license, under different terms.

If that's not what you plan to do, perhaps you should consider relicensing under LGPL, which permits people to build closed-source solutions with your library, without these restrictions.

The bottom line is that no one is going to build commercial websites under a share-alike license - with the possible exception of sites like Wikipedia ;-)
2

#42 User is offline   viper115 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 22-July 10

Posted 24 July 2010 - 10:52 AM

GPL :) commercial license is available according to this http://www.flexicacms.com/license.html
0

#43 User is offline   Hudson Nguyen 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 19-January 09
  • Location:Vietnam

Posted 24 July 2010 - 11:15 AM

Many thanks mindplay. FlexicaCMS is dual license so if you want to use it in commercial product then you can purchase commercial license. This will be ready when flexicacms is stable.

@Viper115: thank for pointing out the link. Let me clarify your post as i think it might make people confused about a "GPL commerical license". There is a GPL license and there is a commercial license which you can release your work with your own terms.
Making Yii better ...
0

#44 User is offline   walik_b 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 10

Posted 18 August 2010 - 04:58 AM

Good work! I want to make something similar with Yii.
0

#45 User is offline   UnderDog 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 26-August 10

Posted 26 August 2010 - 11:56 AM

Thank you for making this CMS. When I was looking through the Yii forum today I thought : "Yet another Yii CMS", but this one looks really impressive, from what I could see in the demo.

View Postwalik_b, on 18 August 2010 - 04:58 AM, said:

Good work! I want to make something similar with Yii.

The problem is that everyone wants to make their 'own' CMS. There are so many systems out there you don't know which is the best. Sure it's ok to learn from it, but maintaining your own CMS is hard (been there, done that). This CMS has some potential.
0

#46 User is offline   ekerazha 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 524
  • Joined: 10-October 08
  • Location:European Union

Posted 26 August 2010 - 03:49 PM

View PostUnderDog, on 26 August 2010 - 11:56 AM, said:

The problem is that everyone wants to make their 'own' CMS. There are so many systems out there you don't know which is the best. Sure it's ok to learn from it, but maintaining your own CMS is hard (been there, done that).

This is what happens when there are no CMSs that satisfy you, well... I'd want my own CMS too :D
Yii user #37
0

#47 User is offline   Hudson Nguyen 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 19-January 09
  • Location:Vietnam

Posted 26 August 2010 - 11:01 PM

Quote

The problem is that everyone wants to make their 'own' CMS.


I agree, i still want to do many things for flexicaCMS. When 'wants' come to 'needs' there will be a more practical decision.

We are going to release v0.4 early next month
Making Yii better ...
0

#48 User is offline   mech7 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: 26-March 09

Posted 29 August 2010 - 11:43 PM

View Postekerazha, on 26 August 2010 - 03:49 PM, said:

This is what happens when there are no CMSs that satisfy you, well... I'd want my own CMS too :D


True it's amazing how bad most CMS are.. after many years and still nobody that nailed it. Concrete5 comes close, but is lacking in modules. Joomla / Drupal / Wordpress are "ok" but are either to complicated or too simple :)
0

#49 User is offline   mindplay 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 397
  • Joined: 03-September 09
  • Location:New York

Posted 30 August 2010 - 07:17 AM

View Postmech7, on 29 August 2010 - 11:43 PM, said:

True it's amazing how bad most CMS are.. after many years and still nobody that nailed it. Concrete5 comes close, but is lacking in modules. Joomla / Drupal / Wordpress are "ok" but are either to complicated or too simple :)


Concrete5 is extremely nice in terms of concept and UI - but lacks any sort of object/relational mapper.

It's lacking in modules because it lacks extensibility points - and I believe Flexica will suffer from the same thing. Being able to plug in new, self-contained extensions does not address cross-cutting concerns - two important extensibility points are missing:

1. Some kind of global event pipeline to enable cross-cutting functionality.

2. Some kind of document object model to enable cross-cutting content generation.

These two extensibility points are the reason why outdated content management systems like Drupal still prevails - and Wordpress, even though it provides only the global event pipeline and no real document object model.

With something much more slick and userfriendly like Flexica or Concrete5, you would expect more developers to be interested - but the fact of the matter is, they just don't provide the same degree of modular extensibility.

I don't imagine any of these features are planned for Flexica? Or if they are, I would say, you're starting at the wrong end - you need to start with an extensible architecture, and then build the standard features on top of that architecture, so that even the core features become fully exposed and fully extensible.

If you're interested, I would love to discuss this more. In fact, I think I have a Yii prototype of a global event pipeline and a simple document object model on one of my workstations somewhere...
3

#50 User is offline   jayrulez 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 348
  • Joined: 29-July 09

Posted 30 August 2010 - 08:34 AM

View Postmindplay, on 30 August 2010 - 07:17 AM, said:

...

If you're interested, I would love to discuss this more. In fact, I think I have a Yii prototype of a global event pipeline and a simple document object model on one of my workstations somewhere...


Would you mind sharing? waprave@gmail.com
php:
foreach(array('cat', 'dog', 'cow') as $animal) echo $animal."\n";

python:
[(animal, print(animal)) for animal in ['cat', 'dog', 'cow']]

ruby:
['cat', 'dog', 'cow'].each {|animal| puts animal}


You say Tomato, I say Tomato.
0

#51 User is offline   Hudson Nguyen 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 19-January 09
  • Location:Vietnam

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:32 AM

Hi MindPlay,

FlexicaCMS implements global event via pre/post service hook.

A service in FlexicaCMS always return a ServiceResult object that you can easily expect the data structure of the returned data.

Pre hooks can prevent service to be executed. For example, in flexicaCMS you have a shared category tree. Your new module added into flexicaCMS can use part of the tree and base on your module business login you want to prevent user from deleting a category. Pre hook is also the common place used to perform authentication.

Post hooks can modify ServiceResult data before it is rendered.

You can chain and order the hooks.

Note that in FlexicaCMS, all business logic processing must be implemented in service class. This programming model prevents developers from writing the business logic processing directly into the controller (you can still enforce that if you need), making the service more reusable and accessible from ajax/external systems. This service approach is also facilitate testing.
Making Yii better ...
0

#52 User is offline   mech7 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: 26-March 09

Posted 31 August 2010 - 02:03 AM

View Postmindplay, on 30 August 2010 - 07:17 AM, said:

If you're interested, I would love to discuss this more. In fact, I think I have a Yii prototype of a global event pipeline and a simple document object model on one of my workstations somewhere...


Please share if would be very interested in this :)
0

#53 User is offline   fastcrash 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 10-March 10
  • Location:South Jakarta

Posted 31 August 2010 - 03:56 AM

View Postmindplay, on 30 August 2010 - 07:17 AM, said:

If you're interested, I would love to discuss this more. In fact, I think I have a Yii prototype of a global event pipeline and a simple document object model on one of my workstations somewhere...


yes i want it too,
i know, shame on me for lack of my skill.
Still improve build my own cms and its pretty hard you know.
and one more thing, its never ending feature. Posted Image
0

#54 User is offline   phant 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 30-September 10
  • Location:Lithuania

Posted 08 October 2010 - 03:02 AM

hello. Thank you for flexicacms. I have flexicacms installed at home and I got a question concerning flexicacms page creation and templates. When I create a new page and make it visible at frontend i see only menu button and no actual content of the page. How would it be possible to resolve this?
0

#55 User is offline   phant 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 30-September 10
  • Location:Lithuania

Posted 10 October 2010 - 10:20 AM

How is it possible to change the order of the pages? I create several pages and I cannot find a way to change their order.
0

#56 User is offline   Davidhhuan 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 270
  • Joined: 08-September 09

Posted 15 October 2010 - 12:03 PM

Hi, in my opinion, i think there should some way to configure the settings, and save it in a database table or configure file.

for example, url-friendly, i can set it to open or not, and when the website loading, it loads the configure and decide whether to display the url-friendly or not.

In fact that, saving settings in an array of a php file is not so convenient to do what i think in the backend, is it?
no pain, no gain...

My Blog : http://cnblogs.com/davidhhuan
My website: http://sharefamily.net/
0

#57 User is offline   Hudson Nguyen 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 19-January 09
  • Location:Vietnam

Posted 15 October 2010 - 12:18 PM

@phant: you can reorder the pages using drag-n-drop feature on the page list

A page is a container only. Well, it's really a normal CMS isn't it :) so if you do nothing with it but just create a page then it show blank. You must associate your page with a layout and a template (just a FlexicaCMS name but actually it's a Yii's view in your front-end theme)

@davidhhuan: not sure I understand but settings are per module and not saved as array but a class of constants so you can utilize your IDE auto-complete feature. Both of your suggestions are not able to utilize the IDE auto-complete feature which easily lead to an 'empty' value due to using wrong parameter name ! agghhhh ! and you know how hard to debug this.
Making Yii better ...
0

#58 User is offline   phant 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 30-September 10
  • Location:Lithuania

Posted 22 October 2010 - 03:59 AM

View PostHudson Nguyen, on 15 October 2010 - 12:18 PM, said:

@phant: you can reorder the pages using drag-n-drop feature on the page list

A page is a container only. Well, it's really a normal CMS isn't it :) so if you do nothing with it but just create a page then it show blank. You must associate your page with a layout and a template (just a FlexicaCMS name but actually it's a Yii's view in your front-end theme)

@davidhhuan: not sure I understand but settings are per module and not saved as array but a class of constants so you can utilize your IDE auto-complete feature. Both of your suggestions are not able to utilize the IDE auto-complete feature which easily lead to an 'empty' value due to using wrong parameter name ! agghhhh ! and you know how hard to debug this.



Thank you very much. I have yet another question... How is the situation with Languages? Could you please describe a little bit multi language mechanism in Flexica? And also specifially about "Add multi-language support" function?

How would it be possible to translate backend?
0

#59 User is offline   masum 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 21-February 10
  • Location:Dhaka, Bangladesh

Posted 25 October 2010 - 09:29 PM

Installation error when install demo data


CDbCommand failed to execute the SQL statement: SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1071 Specified key was too long; max key length is 1000 bytes

Source File
C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\db\CDbCommand.php(227)

00215: $n=$this->_statement->rowCount();
00216:
00217: if($this->_connection->enableProfiling)
00218: Yii::endProfile('system.db.CDbCommand.execute('.$this->getText().')','system.db.CDbCommand.execute');
00219:
00220: return $n;
00221: }
00222: catch(Exception $e)
00223: {
00224: if($this->_connection->enableProfiling)
00225: Yii::endProfile('system.db.CDbCommand.execute('.$this->getText().')','system.db.CDbCommand.execute');
00226: Yii::log('Error in executing SQL: '.$this->getText().$par,CLogger::LEVEL_ERROR,'system.db.CDbCommand');
00227: throw new CDbException(Yii::t('yii','CDbCommand failed to execute the SQL statement: {error}',
00228: array('{error}'=>$e->getMessage())));
00229: }
00230: }
00231:
00232: /**
00233: * Executes the SQL statement and returns query result.
00234: * This method is for executing an SQL query that returns result set.
00235: * @param array input parameters (name=>value) for the SQL execution. This is an alternative
00236: * to {@link bindParam} and {@link bindValue}. If you have multiple input parameters, passing
00237: * them in this way can improve the performance. Note that you pass parameters in this way,
00238: * you cannot bind parameters or values using {@link bindParam} or {@link bindValue}, and vice versa.
00239: * binding methods and the input parameters this way can improve the performance.
Stack Trace
#0 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\protected\modules\Install\controllers\DefaultController.php(146): CDbCommand->execute()
#1 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\actions\CInlineAction.php(32): DefaultController->actionStep3()
#2 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\CController.php(300): CInlineAction->run()
#3 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\CController.php(278): CController->runAction(Object(CInlineAction))
#4 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\CController.php(257): CController->runActionWithFilters(Object(CInlineAction), Array)
#5 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\CWebApplication.php(320): CController->run('Step3')
#6 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\web\CWebApplication.php(120): CWebApplication->runController('Install/default...')
#7 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\framework\base\CApplication.php(135): CWebApplication->processRequest()
#8 C:\xampp\htdocs\flexica\install.php(9): CApplication->run()
#9 {main}
-1

#60 User is offline   Shane Williams 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 10-January 11

Posted 10 January 2011 - 12:36 PM

I attempted to register & download FlexicaCMS but I haven't received my activation e-mail. How long should that take?
0

Share this topic:


  • (5 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users