Where to put error reporting code

Hi All,

I am new to Yii and MVC style coding so I was wondering where I should put some code that reports an error back to the user.

I have a simple schema with a one to many relationship enforced by the db with a "RESTRICT" for ON DELETE

1 color -> many Collectors

I would like to display a nice popup error to the user if they try and delete a color that is being used in the foreign key by Collectors.

I tried putting some code in the BeforeDelete() method of Color’s model. But I could not work out a way to display a dialog from there and it really didnt seem to be the right place.

//   public function beforeDelete()

//   {

//      if(parent::BeforeDelete())

//      {

//         $c=$this->countCollectorsUsingColor();

//         if($c>0)

//         {

//            return false;

//         }

//      }

//      

//     return true;

//   }

I then tried creating a method in Colors model that returned count of references and called that from ColorsController actionDelete method - There the popup is kinda of shown but becomes a whole page and not a popup.

public function countCollectorsUsingColor()

{

return count(Collector::model()->findAll("color_id=".$this->id));

}

public function actionDelete($id)

{

if(Yii::app()->request->isPostRequest)

{

$model=$this->loadModel($id);

$count=$model->countCollectorsUsingColor();

if($count>0)

{

$this->beginWidget('zii.widgets.jui.CJuiDialog', array(

'id'=>'mydialog',

// additional javascript options for the dialog plugin

'options'=>array(

'title'=>'Cannot delete color because referenced by collectors',

'autoOpen'=>true,

'modal'=>true,

'width'=>'auto',

'height'=>'auto',

),

));

echo "Cannot delete this color because:";

echo "There are $count collectors using this color.";

echo "Please edit them first.";

echo $this->renderPartial('_formDialog', array('model'=>$model));

$this->endWidget('zii.widgets.jui.CJuiDialog');

// the link that may open the dialog