Noob Alert => sirens -> chaos -> $Iamayiinoob

OK, so I’m about to start a new project, and I’m being asked which framework to use. I’ve spent time reviewing the options closely, and Yii seems like a top contender if not the winner.

Sorry, I’m a noob. However, I have gone through the tour, and I completed the video tutorial creating an overly simple and fairly useless demo site.

1. Super impressed with Gii. I mean, seriously, it’s cooler then cool… and that’s pretty cool. B)

2. Oops, this is where my questions start…

What’s next? I feel like I just got started becoming Yiis new best friend, and he left me with my hand in the air while he walks away and no high five. Totally dissed dude!

Hey… what do I do now? So I made a basic skeleton demo of a site, and I have no idea what the next step is. I’m having thoughts like, OK, what if I want to use pagination, where’s the helper/library class? or, what if I want to upload and resize to thumbnail on the way, where’s the helper/library class? What if I don’t want to use a template, do I have to, I don’t know? The list of common things one does when developing a website seems to be popping up in my head, and I’m not really seeing a lot of demonstrations as of yet, or tutorials to follow, that show what Yii can do. Certainly there’s more under the hood the what I’ve been show with Gii and some basic CRUD… I mean, right?

My guess is setting up the RBAC and then learn some more about extending Yii classes to get the desired functionality.

RBAC

Extending Yii

But the best practice in my opinion is to just use it and learn it on the way, after all the best way of learning is doing it yourself.

http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/

http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/

That’s a common reaction when faced with something as awesome and complex as Yii. :lol:

The only way to overcome that initial ‘what now’? feeling after the initial rush of excitement is to actually start using it.

Choose a project, and make it happen.