Fat Model Thin Controller

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to web programming, PHP and MVC framework.

I came across an interesting concept in coding Models and Controllers.

It’s called FAT model and THIN controller.

The idea is to have business logic coded in model instead of controller.

Sounds like a good idea. Controller cant call another controller

but it can call multiple models.

To me, a system’s logic can be classified as application and business logic.

I think FAT model will contain business logic while THIN controller will contain application logic.

What do you think?

1 Like

This is also what Yii recommends.

I have done many applications with this style, and it really makes things expandable and portable.

One problem that I have found with this method is programmer stupidity, though. Some programmers do not have the ability to wrap their minds around a “Model” that is not just a wrapper of a database table. This concept is a little easier in Yii since the base class ‘CModel’ doesn’t have anything to do with the database.

For enterprise application, I try to separate my "Model" into 3 layers: Business Logic, Unit Logic, and Database Logic. The controller can only access the Business Logic layer, which can only access the Unit Logic, which can only access the Database Logic.

In this way, you can make generic functionality in the Business Logic, that then interfaces with the many different units in your system (users, business, etc), that then does whatever database interaction that is required.

For most projects, though, that approach is a little heavy.

I am, however, a fan of the Thin controller, Fat model concept.

Thanks for the reply. I am trying to implement this concept in my project now.

But I ran into some design dilemma.

I have a model that has a set of methods (like a mgr component).

getBooks(),

updateBook(),

newBook(),

deleteBook(),

Where should I validate and how should I pass my data to the model?

1. Inside controller.