Yii preformance

I’m a veteran php coder and this days I received an offer to a totally high traffic web site it’s a bottleneck on choosing among a dozen of frameworks stands over there and making mistakes takes a big price for me so I wanna to ask you about the reality in this area not just some damned motto which is there choosing a framework for such a high traffic web site reasonable and is there Yii the best one or not? founding a good answer about this simple/hard question sounds too hard!

Did you read this?

About Yii

Yap I read it before but an old Persian expression say “a dairy never say it’s yogurt is sour!” when you see some exaltation it’s a bit hard to believe all of them is true. I need some practical tests not just a hello word benchmarking actually it says nothing about the performance if you really want to compare you should write hole a project with two different framework and then running your benchmarking.

@ramram:

Using a framework always comes with a tradeoff compared to “pure” PHP. That’s the price you have to pay, but you get better organized code and have ready-to-use solutions for common web app problems. Still i recommend you to give Yii a try: It tries to stay very slim and only loads what’s really required for handling a request. You can make it stay out of the way if you want to handle some specific action solely with your custom code.

So if you’re like me and like the freedom to do whatever you want in PHP but still having the option to use prepared components (which are coded mostly excellent btw.), Yii is perfect for you.

Well, when you look for something with "high" performance, Yii is something to check out. But first you should look on "development" speed. And not only on framework speed.

Things you should checkout or think about:

a ) Is it possible to write C(++) code and use it in the framework

B ) How quick could I write plugins, extension? (For example RoR is a pain imho)