Best Method to Execute Complex Query

I’ve encountered a situation with our app in which I’m not sure of the best way to achieve the results I need.

Here’s my goal:

I have a table that contains a variety of tuition data about certain universities (e.g. total cost of in-state (US) tuition, total room & board expenses, total cost of books, etc.). I need to allow my users to search the universities by a tuition range.

However, the total tuition cost for each university is calculated by a model via custom getters and other model methods. So, of course, I can’t write a simple SQL query to retrieve the universities with total tuition costs that fall within the user’s given range.

My first inclination was to create a stored procedure that would perform the required query, but I’d like to continue using ActiveRecord and CActiveDataProvider because they save me a lot of work and allow me to reuse the same view I use to list/index all of the universities.

I’m still pretty new to Yii, and this exceeds my level of knowledge/familiarity with it.

Can anyone suggest the best method to use to achieve these results, please?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Wave,

I’m not sure if I fully understand your situation, but as a general rule if I encounter situations where advanced queries are needed, especially when database functions are required to calculate results, I generally deviate from ARs and use DAO instead. While you’ll lose some of the native ease of working with ARs, DOA will generally be more efficient. Also, by extending the CModel and/or CDataProvider classes, you can perform queries using DAO, but still take advantage of the widgets and other things that consume models and dataproviders.