TbExtendedGridView - row colors

I am very new to yii, have been going thru tutorials, and looking at forum posts. I see several forum posts on this topic, but all my attempts so far have failed.

I am attempting to modify an existing application for support tickets. We have a process where a support rep must assign the ticket to a support group level, then the ticket must be acknowledged by the support group the ticket was assigned to. We get emails after 15 minutes warning that the ticket hasn’t been acknowledged. Until we receive the email, we don’t necessarily know which tickets have and have not been acknowledged. I want to set the background color in the TbExtendedGridView listing of the tickets based on whether the ticket has been acknowledged.

I’ve looked at this posting http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php/topic/7646-cgridview-how-to-color-rows-depending-on-data-values/page__p__38802__hl__cgridview+color+#entry38802 which details how to set the color attributes using rowCssClassExpression.

So far every time I attempt to use this setting it completely disables my gridview.

I have attempted to add a function to the tickets.php file, which is my class definitions for the tickets class.

/*public function getColor($colorstr as string) {

// $colorstr in value passed from calling function

// if empty, no value set - return 'green'

// if not empty, ie.. value is set - return 'white'

$colorstr = 'white';  // defaults to value being set

if strlen(trim($colorstr)) == 0) { $colorstr = 'green';}   // value not set

return $colorstr;

} 

*/

any time I uncomment this function I get an error, even though there is nothing calling this function.