I really like Yii2

Hi,

I have been coding for over 30 years, but I just started using PHP about three years ago for a Drupal project.

I had an unexpected need to built a custom web application last year and when faced with choosing a framework, I gave up and just wrote the application from scratch. It was very time consuming, but I was afraid of making the wrong choice and completely screwing myself.

I have to write another web application this year and I decided to spend the time finding the right framework for me.

My first choice was Laravel. I spent some time watching the videos and coding some examples. It is a good framework, but I ran into some problems where I couldnā€™t find a good way to accomplish what I needed. I was also disappointed that it doesnā€™t have client-side forms validation (if it does, I couldnā€™t find it) and Twitter Bootstrap isnā€™t built-in. Sure, there are extensions to do such things, but these are things I felt should be part of the base framework and I didnā€™t want to waste my time trying to get those things to work well together.

I investigated a few other options and then tried Yii2. I really, really like Yii2. I wanted to use Twitter Bootstrap and itā€™s built in. I wanted client-side forms validation and itā€™s built in. And both are very well integrated with the forms model.

I have always just written my own SQL. I knew I should be using an object model, but I was concerned it would get in the way. Well, I really like Yiiā€™s object model. Every time I think that Iā€™m going to have to write raw SQL because I canā€™t get the model to do what I want, I read through the documentation and find an easy way to do it.

Another thing I like about Yii2 is that if feels ā€œsimpleā€. It does almost everything I need without making me jump through hoops to get there. I donā€™t find myself thinking the framework is taking more time than itā€™s saving.

Thank you!

Mike

1 Like