Right-alignment for numeric fields

Hi,

I’m a complete Yii newbie (started using it yesterday). I created some forms using crud command and now I want all the numeric fields to have content aligned to the right. This is done via CSS text-alignment: right but I cannot find how do to this with CHtml::activeTextField.

I even tried to google for about half an hour, learned a lot of other stuff about Yii, but not this.

Thanks,

M.

I just discovered I can add any HTML attribute, so I can do it like this:

echo CHtml::activeTextField($model,‘price’, array(‘style’=>‘text-align: right’));

However, it is very cumbersome to have to do this for every numeric field. Since Yii already knows which fields are numerical (specified in rules), it would be nice to have them all aligned to right.

I hope this has already been done, but I’m failing to discover it?

apply a class to numberic fields eg: class=>"numeric" and specify a css rule like .numeric {test-align:right;}

This is exactly what I’m trying to avoid. Since Yii already knows which fields are numeric, it would be nice if it would set this class automatically. Or, at least, if “crud” command of yiic shell would add the class to generated view code. Of course, I would then specify CSS style for that class.

Can I submit a feature request somewhere? I believe this would be a useful feature for all Yii users.

Thanks,

M.

That’s a bit application or individual specific isn’t it?

I don’t think so. Don’t you have numeric fileds in your databases? How do you align them in visual representation?

It is very common for numbers to be right-aligned. Take a look at Excel or OpenOffice and how they format numbers by default. Even this forum right-aligns the number of posts in each thread. Any tabular representation also has numbers right-aligned. PHP function sprintf also defaults to right-align when you specify numeric format like ‘%8d’ for example - it pads to 8 characters with spaces prepended.