Yii_Mysql_Inoudb_Foreign_Keys

I’m working on a PHP/mysql/html5 project. I did it from scratch last year,and it works pretty well. As we started scaling up, I learned the hard way about using a design that is maintainable and scaleable. So I studied the frameworks, chose Yii, and went through the tutorials, and have been trying to port the infrastructure into a Yii box. I’m a newbie with Yii. But I did the tutorials, and got trackstar working. When I ported my mysql database to my new version 2 with frameworks, gii didn’t like foreign keys for creating the CRUD. So I removed the foreign keys columns so I could run Gii and create the CRUD infrastructure. Then I added the foreign keys back into the database. I have a “tbl_programs”, with no foreign keys, and all the CRUD works. The Programs model launches a “tbl_courses” model, controller, etc. When I attempt to view the individual courses, I get an error–

"The value for the column "id" is not supplied when querying the table "tbl_courses".

I got XDEBUG working with my XAMPP server and stepped through the php calls, seeing what is going on inside the Yii engine. The ID is being transferred all the way down, to the CDBCommandBuilder:: createInCondition. I compared the code when it reached here for both programs (which works) and courses (which breaks). The difference is there are 2 ColumnNames with primary keys, my id (which is the one its supposed to point to, to bring up the specific course to view), and the foreign key (tbl_programs_id) which helps the courses know which program they belong to. I also use it to list only the courses that belong toa program.

So my question: I think I need foreign keys. There are lots of 1 to many relationships. Does Yii have limitations in working with complex INOUDB engines? I’m also kind of new with INOUDB, my first version used mysql MYISAM, which seemed easier because I was more familiar.