About Fat Model

Hello everyone, I’m new to Yii framework, before I check this framework, I always think the right pattern should keep Model simple, and controller or another biz layer having all logic. I still couldn’t understand FAT model will be more reusable? special when the model is huge. Does anyone can sharing what do you think about this?

I’m not also thinking about FAT controller, but something like TIN controller, model, and having another FAT biz logic layer, for model is auto generated by Gii, so what I think will the better don’t touch it, just extends it, I know C# having a way calling ‘partial class’, it just keep the auto-generated part, and you still can create a new class with the same class name to code your biz logic, so the model can be updated anytime you want, and your biz logic just remain there. When you have a total look, it’s FAT model, but just separated into pieces(different files but same class).

Maybe my issue is just want a way to ‘update my model anytime I want, and keep my customize biz logic there’, any solution or advice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Well… I can’t tell you much about business logic from my point of view, as I don’t have enough experience in this area. But, even so, let me drop my personal opinion.

You can look at it from the very basic point of view (at least I’m doing so). If you move most of business logic into model, you can use it in any controller (or even view), that is using particular model. While, when you encapsulate logic in the controller, you won’t be able (to easily) to access it from another controller.

I don’t know, how much does it follows (or violates) MVC model and professional business-logic-oriented programming, but I always found it really useful to have all data-related logic, methods and functions inside model not, in the controller.

So, I’m – opposite to you – supporting fat models and thin controller.