How to pass variable to a layout?

Hello, I’m a little new to Yii. I’m wondering what is the best way to pass variables to a layout from an action.

Thanks!

you can pass it when you call the render method like

$message = 'hello world';

$this->render('view_file',array('message'=>$message));

and in your view_file view file you can echo out the message

<?php echo $message; ?>

Thanks for your response. You can access the variable in a view like a local variable, but not in a layout right? I was asking about passing variables to the default layout.

in controller

public $param = ‘value’;

in layout

echo $this->param

Thanks!

In YII you cannot pass variables to a layout. This is by design.

Layout is a site-wide entity and therefore must not rely on any

particular controller. So, while your approach is working, it’s

not clean in the way of architecture. I recommend you one of the

following:

1. Implement method of your BaseController.

2. Reuse CApplication::getParams.

Hi! I had a similar problem because I had to put a banner in the layout… and the banner had to be different in the home page. I solved the problem in this way:

if (($this->id=='site')&&($this->action->id=='index')){

// Here the HOME banner

} else {

// Here the other banners

}

It’s obviously more clean and elegant that using a new variable!

Hello, I have another question…

How can I pass variable from static page file to layout. Like we can set $this->pageTitle in static page file, and then that variable is available in layout. My question is how can I pass another variable?

Thanks.

I recently ran into this problem myself - I’ve inadvertently created a dependency between my controllers and layout, which turns out to be highly impractical, because I have certain controllers I reuse between projects. By creating a dependency on certain properties or methods of your controller to complete your layout, you lose that flexibility.