Yii For A Cms That Generates Html Files (No Php, No Cached)

I have searched the web and this forum but I have not found an answer, so I will post here. I am a total newbie to Yii while I used PHP to code sites for years.

I have a web site project that needs an ordinary CMS with PHP and MySQL, but it must generate static Html files for the public web site. I do mean simple html files, not a cache file served by PHP. There must be no calls to the php engine for the http requests regarding the front-end.

I know it sounds like --hem no, it really is!-- a silly newbie’s question and I truly apologize for that, but I don’t know where to start with doing that with Yii.

Last year I have done a similar PHP project without using a framework, but as I would like the new project to be able to expand if needed and keep the code clean and structured, I am evaluating if Yii could be the right instrument to implement it or I am just wasting my time because it’s too complex for what I have to do.

Summary:

• CMS (PHP + DB) writing/overwriting .html files on public site.

• no DB or PHP requests on public site, just plain files served by Apache (not served by a Yii application).

Do you know if exists any tutorial or script I should look at to learn coding it?

Hi, why reinvent the wheel?

there are open source cms (frameworks) that have a static export functionality built in, like TYPO3

Thanks for your help.

I tried Typo3 12 years ago and it was a nightmare, far too much complicated. I don’t know if things are changed and know it’s easier to learn and manage. I have checked the requirements (256 Mb RAM) and I hope it does not apply to the static HTML set-up, because I don’t have.

I thought of a framework because of flexibility, I would just implement things I need. And I need two back-ends, one for the administrator and the other, very simplified, for people managing their content (text and images).