Frontend, Backend Folders And Rights

Hello,

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to Yii. I’ve started learning it two days ago.

I decided to use this folder structure: http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/33/ ("normal" application and a backend folder inside). I know there are alternatives but I liked this one.

Anyway, I’ve also installed the Yii rights module (http://www.yiiframework.com/extension/rights/). I put it into the backend folder, but then I realized, that I won’t be able to manage front-end users rights.

So what’s the right solution (maybe I should install it the frontend folder either?).

BTW: I read that for backend functionality writing a module is an option, but then in many places I read that this leads to very ugly code for some reason, and that separate folders are much better. I decided that code common for both frontend and backend will simply be in frontend models. Theoretically I could install this “rights module” in frontend, but then it won’t be able to see and set rights to the backend controllers/actions, right?

Or maybe I should forget messing with folder structure, keep everything in one place and then using the ‘rights’ module specify access for each function (which would be quite uneffective).

I don’t know, if this will bring you any help, but here’s my idea and point of view on this matters.

First you have to understand and clarify to yourself, what "front-end" and "back-end" means to you. Because definition of it could vary among developers, customers and projects.

I build my applications two ways. Not always concerning to their size, as in the article, you mentioned. Often situation, customer requirements or other circumstances decides.