debug

Hi all,

I am a CakePHP developer who wanted to try out Yii. I’m excited to see Yii stick with PHP 5 and the benefits it brings, but while trying to develop a simple site I found debugging in Yii to be more difficult than it needs to be. Let me explain what I am use to and if there are other frameworks that use something similar, I’m sure you feel my pain.

In CakePHP, when I want to debug my app I simply set a value in a config file debug=2,1 or 0. 0 = no debugging. 1 means you don’t see query level debugging, 2 you get the full debugging. With that value set to 1 or greater when you want to view the contents of a variable, you simply use a line like: debug($myVar); your variable will be spit out, in the newest version of Cake, in a nicely formatted div at the top of the page out put so you can see what s in the variable without it hidding through out your page or cluttering up the layout.

So I had an idea. why not make something like that in Yii. Well I have not taken the time to make this an extension, one day maybe, but for now I will share what I did it too is not as robust as Cake’s but when I get time and a bit more experience with Yii I may get it there.

First the main.php config file. I added this key to the params

'params'=>array(

// other params

//Special debug message;

'debugContent'=>'',

),

Then I added this to my main.php layout just below the body tag:

<?php if(!empty(Yii::app()->params['debugContent'])):?>

<?php echo Yii::app()->params['debugContent'];?>

<?php endif;?>

Finally in the class I’m working on I added this method:

protected function Debug($var){

$bt = debug_backtrace();

$dump = new CVarDumper();

$debug = '<div style="display:block;background-color:gold;border-radius:10px;border:solid 1px brown;padding:10px;z-index:10000;"><pre>';

$debug .= '<h4>function: '.$bt[1]['function'].'() line('.$bt[0]['line'].')'.'</h4>';

$debug .=  $dump->dumpAsString($var);

$debug .= "</pre></div>\n";