New to Yii - many questions

Hi everyone, I am new to Yii and I have lots of questions.  Some of these questions may not be specific to Yii but they are prompted by the capabilities and documentation of Yii.  So far what I have seen in Yii is very promising for a serious productivity tool.  Just so you understand where I am coming from I have written a few apps using the CodeIgniter Framework, but nothing that would impress a serious coder.  I am semi-newbie. Questions are in no specific order.

• CDbConnection documentation states:

One can do prepared SQL execution and bind parameters to the prepared SQL:

Can someone explain what this is, it sounds like a canned sql statement or some often re-used database request.  A simple example would be great, I didn't understand the example in the documentation.

• When moving the application to the production server do we only include the files under the application folder or are all the files in the root install required?
  • Is there any capability in the framework for handling images, ie watermarking and image resizing? Or will this have to be implemented as an extension?
  • If I want to create a separate interface for the backend and frontend of an application should I create two separate applications ie "testdrive is frontend" new folder on same level "backend is backend" anyway this seems like a common requirement any pointers?

Thanks in advance for any input from the community, I have many more questions and obviously I must take responsibility for answering my own questions.  I appreciate the time people take to reply to newbie questions. I am scouring the docs now and looking at the generated files.  Soon I hope to be able to help other newbies.

Take care,

doodle

1. See http://us2.php.net/m…pdo.prepare.php for more details about prepared SQL execution.

2. You need to copy everything under the root of your application (that contains the index.php file).