Cons and Pros of having a model class for a association table

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Yii and I have the following situation;

There are three tables in my case;

color, painting and painting_color where each color can have many paintings and each painting can have many colors. There will be some advanced filtering; such as finding the paintings which contain the colors; "yellow", "red" and "green".

The book that I have been following (Agile Web Application Development with Yii and PHP5) says that it’s not necessary to create a model for every association table, however, some people in the forum recommends the opposite; as in these posts;

http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php/topic/19959-handling-many-to-many-relationships/page__p__97706__hl__many+many+relation+hip#entry97706

http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php?/topic/19948-many-to-many-with-input-field/page__pid__97646#entry97646

Now,

[b]If I choose to use a model class for the association table, would it cause any performance problems?

If I choose to handle the relation without using a model class, can I face any complexity issues in the long term when there are many filtering attributes such as color, size, orientation, origin etc?[/b]

Please tell me the cons and pros of going with each method.

Thank you.

tbl_color (model: Color)

id

tbl_painting (model: Painting)

id

tbl_painting_color (model: [color="#FF0000"]PaintingColor?[/color])

(painting_id, color_id)

As long as you don’t fetch thousands of records in a single request (which is unlikely if you are not doing any big bulk inserts etc.) you won’t notice performance issues. ActiveRecord is very fast so performance is often not an appropriate argument against it. However…