Place a list in a form and save associations between the two models.

Hi, I am new to Yii and would like your ideas on how to set up a list in a form.

I have a form to which I would like to add a list (like a CGridView) of items that are based on a different CActiveRecord model from the main form. My question is how is this placed in the form, or is it just another item on the page?

Eventually I want to be able to select multipliable items on this list (with a check-box or something) and add an association to the model in the main form. In the database there is a many to many association between these two models.

Finally, I would like to be able to change the order of the items in the list and then for the selected ones save that order to the database also.

How should this be set up to make the best use of tools provided by the Yii framework?

Thanks for your help.

Sorry, I don’t understand what you want. Can you explain it through an example?

Don’t forget that only one form can be sent from a web page (unless you use AJAX).

If you’re OK with a JS dependent page, then you could use CJuiSortable. It’s just a wrapper on JQueryUI Sortable. In each one of its sortable items, put a checkbox. It should amount to something like:

$items = array();

foreach ($selectableModels as $m) {

// I suppose ($m->selected == 1) iff ($m is linked to the main object)

$items[] = "<label>" . CHtml::checkbox('List[]', $m->selected, array('value' => $m->id)) . $m->name . "</label>";

}

$this->widget(

'zii.widgets.jui.CJuiSortable',

array('items' => $items)

);

When posted, the form will send in "List" an array of the selectd IDs.

Instead of saving this in a relational table, you may also consider serializing the list into a text field. There are pros (its easier to read and modify) and cons (you cannot search on the relations).