Getting Started with Database

I am new to Yii and trying to port an existing PHP application to use Yii. But I am having trouble getting started.

There are three initial issues that are puzzling me.

First - how does Yii create the database structure. I see a file in the data directory called schema.sqlite.sql which is used to setup the database. In my existing application I have some code like this

if(!file_exists(AIR_HOCKEY_DATABASE.AIR_HOCKEY_VARIANT.'.db')) {

$db = new PDO('sqlite:'.AIR_HOCKEY_DATABASE.AIR_HOCKEY_VARIANT.'.db');

$db->exec(file_get_contents('./database.sql'));

} else {

$db = new PDO('sqlite:'.AIR_HOCKEY_DATABASE.AIR_HOCKEY_VARIANT.'.db');

}

and then later, allowing for potential updates to the database structure

$result = $db->query("SELECT count(*) FROM sqlite_master WHERE name = 'config' ;");

if(!($result && ($present = $result->fetchColumn()) && $present == '1')) {

//NO CONFIG TABLE - so database must be at version 1 - update to version 2

$result->closeCursor();

$db->exec(file_get_contents('./update1.sql'));	    

} else {

$result->closeCursor();

}

Where in the yii framework should I put this stuff?

The second issue I have is that I need to make my menu dynamic, reading a database query. I need to read a the database and create a list of menu items (and the second level) from a table in the database. In the default application built by yiic the menu is in the layout. with a call to

$this->widget('zii.widgets.CBreadcrumbs' ...

How am I supposed to setup to correct data for it to draw a dynamic menu?

The last issue I have is that the default page (ie the site/index action) should comprise several sections, which should ideally be a separate model and view.

But I don’t understand how I should do that. If it was just one view then site controller does

$this->render('index');

but this causes the layout to surround it which is fine.

But if I did

$this->render('part1');

$this->render('part2');