Data Caching Advice Needed

Hi

I’m working on my first yii application which will be an exam test type site so users will be presented with a number of questions pulled from the database. The questions will be random but once they’re pulled there’s no need to hit the db again.

I’m just thinking of the best way to handle this so I’ve been reading the wiki and documentation about caching in yii. I want to be able to use the same data set from page to page. I’m pretty sure data caching is the way to go but as I’ve never done it before I’m just polling the community for ideas and suggestions. What would be the best way to approach this type of thing and are there other options I haven’t considered?

I was also thinking about the idea of caching on amazon cloudfront for extra speed. Any thoughts on that?

Looking forward to your replies.

Thanks

Steve

Wow amazon! You expecting some really big data?

I’m new to yii but essentially to cache out to a file and the do a read of that file.

Have your model/controller pull the query based on life of the cache file then load the questions into an array. Then keep track of which questions have been used from the array when you loop through or pick up from the last key/value set with an array counter.

How big is your data set? 1000’s of questions if sonyake thenrisk of having a solid connection to amazon. If not, even a simple php cavhe setup should do you good.

I see the biggest issue in the looping of the array compared to accessing your cache of the db query.

I would also skip the time out of the cache for a manual update from the admin. Make adjustments to question set and rewrite the cache. This will also speed up the rejuvenation of the cache files but means you have to have an active mechnaism to write and update from aomething like an admin panel.

Sorry for not providing the proper Yii functions for doing this :(

Thanks for the response SapporoGuy.