$_SESSION keeps refreshing on every page load

As some of you will know. I am new to Yii and Frameworks really, but I’m having a good time with Yii. I’ve been working on a custom login which I have now got to work (I hope).

However…

I’ve noticed that my session just keeps re-writing itself on ever page load, whether I’m trying to login or not. Obviously this defeats the object of the login and I can’t really check that the login works properly due to this. I’m at a bit of a loss as to what is causing this or where the code for it would be as it doesn’t seem confined to just logging in.

I use XAMPP locally and have no issues with logins on any other custom site.

I have this in my config file:

'session' => array (

'autoStart' => true,

'sessionName' => 'nice new sessions',

'cookieMode' => 'only',

'savePath' => '../yii_sessions',

),

I don’t know if this is even helpful at all, but thought it at least relevant.

I asked on the live chat and Tom mentioned that he vaguely remembered a PHP bug about this, but didn’t know how to correct it. I too have looked on the forum for help, but couldn’t seem to find anything to actually fix the problem.

Does anybody have any ideas?

:)

To update this query. I removed all the session components and tested them all one by one. It turned out that they all caused this problem except for

'cookieMode' => 'only',

using any other aspect caused the $_SESSION to just start a new.

Remove

'sessionName' => 'nice new sessions',

and everything will be working. Session name defaults to PHPSESSID and that’s cool :).

Also

'autoStart' => true,

already defaults to true so you can remove this line too.

Found this on php.net

For interested people, look at CHttpSession.init() and you’ll see that CHttpSession.open() is called, which starts session and after all properties (like sessionName) are set.

What you think guys?

I think that session_name() needs to be called before session_start() as stated in a manual.