AES Encryption

Hello,

I am very new to Yii, but very excited about all the possibilities I see.

I am building an application where several of the fields require encryption (social security number, etc.). In my old, procedural PHP code, I was able to do this when extracting an encrypted field value from MySQL to display in a form:

AES_DECRYPT(insuranceSubscriberSSN,’$key_string’) as insuranceSubscriberSSN

I have looked through the documentation and the forums but have not found a good exmaple of how this works (at least, one that I kind understand).

I would very much appreciate some guidance and examples of the best ways to encrypt and decrypt a couple of fields.

Thanks very much,

Christopher

I would do it like this

In your model, create a new variable at the top like

public $encoded;

Then, create a scope, (I’m using a defaultScope as an example)

public function defaultScope()

{

return array("select" => array("AES_DECRYPT(id,'yourkey') as encoded"));

}

Now you can retrieve the data using regular AR methods

$data = Test::model()->findByPk($id);

echo $data->encoded;

I apologize for the ‘newbness’ of this … I have been writing PHP procedural code for a long time but am new to OO and Yii. Thank you for taking the time to help me with this.

I have placed this at the top of my ‘Clients’ model:

public $encoded;

And then I have placed this down in the model where the other functions live:

public function defaultScope()

{

return array("select" => array("AES_DECRYPT(clientSocialSecurity,'C3yZ)pO|RgP|IaBuCT') as encoded"));

}	

And then the form display in my view I have this just to see if I get anything:

$data = Clients::model()->findByPk($id);

echo $data->encoded;

But I get nothing visible returned and then also no other data displayed for that client. I also don’t see where that function defaultScope actually gets called.

I am sure I have done something incorrect with the code you provided. Please advise.

Regards,

Christopher