Where to Start with Yii

[size="3"][UPDATE Oct 11/09]

In a new comprehensive guide I’m working on, I remodelled this tutorial to fix any bugs, make it work without the need for a database and provided screen shots. Here is the link, it’s in PDF format. [b]

http://www.sterlingsavvy.com/Update - Where to Start with Yii.pdf

[UPDATE][/b][/size]

Hi folks. I’m new to Yii, I’m new to frameworks so in the process of trying to find out myself where to start I designed this tutorial. For most of the users who submit to these parts of the forums this will be completely useless to you except to critique. However this is meant to be geared at complete new users to Yii, even new to PHP Frameworks. Maybe if it’s good enough it’ll be something they start using to introduce users to Yii.

I would love for people to have a read and rate it on it’s simplicity, clarity and anything else you want to comment on. I will warn you it is roughly 5000 words (approx 10 typed pages) in length so it is timely to go through. However even if you just skim through the parts that are important to the “coding” as opposed to the defining MVC and OOP, it may be shorter.

There is also a lot of "dialogue" if you wish about my own personal views and exp​ressions that I find help personalize the tutorial and make it more user friendly giving the reader a better sense of what they are doing.

I can make revisions as needed for typos, clarity or generally just adding / removing parts of it. It’s written in Canadian English. Enjoy :)

http://www.sterlings…0with%20Yii.pdf

Kyle

[EDIT] The new link to the html version can be seen below (for those too lazy to read through all the posts

www.sterlingsavvy.com/tutorials/index.php

[New Edit] Apparently the new forums altered the links, heres’ the address.

www.sterlingsavvy.com/tutorials/index.php