CRUD problem

Hello folks. I just registered in the Yii Forum and this is my first post. I am a newbie in PHP and Yii and I was hoping you guys could me.

I have a table with a non-numeric primary key. The table looks something like this:

ClassificationCode Classification

E Extrapulmonary TB

P Pulmonary TB

I’m having problems with CRUD because I think it will only work with a numeric auto-incrementing primary key. How do I implement CRUD using the above table.

Thank you.

Herdie Hizon

Where are you having problems? Can you post some code?

Is it really extremely important that your tables have non-numeric primary/foreign keys. If possible just change them to numeric and make the primary keys auto_increment, it saves you a lot of hazzle and headache.

A piece of advice, it is considered a bad practice to use non-numeric keys specially from the maintenance point of view.

Imagine a situation where you have to use e.g. ‘john_doe’ as a primary key and this in turn is a foreign key in other 1000 tables, if you change ‘john_doe’ to ‘suzi_doe’ you will have to execute 1000 changes(updates).

Just a bit of clarification. Ideally, primary keys should be meaningless. Numeric vs non-numeric is less important. And since an auto incrementing key is the easiest way to make something meaningless, they are a common and useful choice. A meaningless primary key doesn’t prevent you from having any number of “unique” keys that might have meaning. For example, in a product table, you might store the manufacturer’s product code (unique per manufacturer, at least), but use a generated key as the primary key.