[Beginner] Command prompt

Hello,

I’m totally new to YII and I’m reading the book now. The first thing I need to do is use yiic in the command prompt.

I’ve made a folder C:/Site/demo for my first demo. In that folder I’ve placed my YII software. Now when I go in the command prompt and type framework/yiic webapp demo when I’m in C:/site/demo it says it doesn’t recognize framework as a command. Can someone tell me what I do wrong?

Now I went to the framework directory in the cmd and started YIIC with yiic webapp c:\site\demo

It now says that it can’t find php.exe. Should I also install php at my laptop? And is the above syntax correct?

Wow…

First of all you need a HTTP server that it seems you don’t have…

Do you mean that I need to install WAMP to do this locally?

The problem is that I also need IIS, can I run this together on 1 laptop?

And when I do that. Is the above syntax then correct?

I haven’t tryed it on IIS… but if you have PHP there it should work… don’t forget to check the Yii requirements

You can install WAMP or any other ready-made solution for windows…

When you have all Yii requirements… then the best way to procede is to follow the Definitive Guide to Yii

Thanks for your help.

I’m using the definitive guid now instead of the book. The only thing I still don’t understand of is that if I’m creating a new website named test, I need to create a folder test in my c:/Wamp/WWW folder. Should I also put my YII software in my test folder? Or should I also create a folder C:/wamp/www/yii folder in which I put the YII software?

The definitive guide is the bare minimum you need to understand Yii… after the guide you can go with the book you will understand it better…

As for the yii framework… it’s all matter of taste… you can put it in the application folder ( c:\wamp\www\test\yii ) or in the web root folder (c:\wamp\www\yii )