[Solved] How to expand the User object

I am a newbie, started using Yii two days ago. I am able to set up and use the blog tutorial. However, when I tried to add any new feature to the tutorial, I am not able to figure out which file to modify. For example, there is an email field in tbl_user. And, I have added firstname and lastname fields to tbl_user. After login, I want to display the firstname on a page with something like

Yii::app()->user->getFirstname()     or  

Yii::app()->user->firstname

I shall appreciate if some expert can guide me how should I implement this.

Also on the same lines, if I want to implement a simple scheme to determine whether a logged-in user is a regular user or has admin rights, based on the contents of a field in tbl_user (e.g. tbl_user.level > 1 means ‘admin’ and tbl_user.level <= 1 means a regular user), how do I implement this?

Thanks in advance.

You’re going to want to grab the actual instance of your user model for the logged in user.

$user = User::model()->findByPk(Yii::app()->user->id);

//then you can

echo $user->firstname

Jaz,

Thanks for your quick response. Well, your suggestion will work. However, I believe that it will require fetching data from the user table from the database. Is it possible to modify/extend the CWebUser or some other class to store the required details, such as User’s firstname, last name, phone number, etc. in the user object on successful login? I also want to determine whether the user is ‘admin’ based on some data in the user table. Then I would like to use user->isAdmin() to determine if the logged-in user has admin rights.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.