Yii Framework Forum: Forum RTL support - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Forum RTL support Forum is not supporting RTL Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#1 User is offline   bamdad dashtban 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 09-April 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:02 AM

Dear Admins,

I have to mentioned that the forums doesn't support RTL messages.
In the international section we come across problems in sending both Persian and English messages. I guess we have the same problem in Arabic and Hebrew because they need RTL support too.
I recommend using a better WYSWIG editor which support RTL or change the forum style.
In addition,I guess there is no Persian moderator in international section and this make Persian Yii users connection to Yii Developers a little hard. Hence , i suggest choosing a moderator through an election in Persian section.Also I can be a candidate.
Thank you very much

Best Regards,
Bamdad Dashtban
1

#2 User is offline   Ali Borjian 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 19-January 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:14 AM

I agree and I think you should improve the forum system and add features like RTL

0

#3 User is offline   Ehsanjs 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 12-April 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:15 AM

Hello
please help us
we need to write our topics in persian, so we need RTL suppurt in related TextArea.
tanks alot
0

#4 User is offline   Ramin Rezazadeh 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 01-April 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:25 AM

admins, please add the RTL feature.
0

#5 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,359
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 28 April 2011 - 04:02 AM

View Postbamdad dashtban, on 28 April 2011 - 02:02 AM, said:

In addition,I guess there is no Persian moderator in international section ...


When you go to the Persian forum - http://www.yiiframew...rum/41-persian/

Take a look a bit down there is the text "Forum Led By", there you can see that @Ali Borjian is the moderator...
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

#6 User is offline   bamdad dashtban 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 09-April 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 09:29 AM

View Postmdomba, on 28 April 2011 - 04:02 AM, said:

When you go to the Persian forum - http://www.yiiframew...rum/41-persian/

Take a look a bit down there is the text "Forum Led By", there you can see that @Ali Borjian is the moderator...

Thank you I haven't noticed that , the main issue that I opened this topic is 'The RTL Support' ,is there any chance to add RTL support in editor tags , therefore users can insert RTL formatted text correctly?
0

#7 User is offline   Reza f 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 05-April 11

Posted 28 April 2011 - 04:57 PM

thanks bamdad for contributing too much in persian section . i think rtl support is important specially if forum users need to use arabic,Persian or Hebrew
0

#8 User is offline   Ali Borjian 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 19-January 11

Posted 01 May 2011 - 01:16 AM

see if it is useful
http://www.ipbcustom...ection-buttons/

0

#9 User is offline   Muaid 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: 25-October 10
  • Location:Saudi Arabia

Posted 03 May 2011 - 06:10 AM

+1

the WYSIWYG is good, and i'll explain what we mean and where the problem appear :

when we use the BBCode

[right]  .....  [ /right]


and mixing RTL words with LTR (for example: Arabic with English words) then the words order flipped !!

to be more clear .. the sentence should appear like this:

( ArabicWord1 EnglishWord ArabicWord2)

instead of

( ArabicWord2 EnglishWord ArabicWord1)

this is really confusing when writing new Topic or replaying !!

-----------------------

the solution is really simple.

the BBCode used in RTL (Align Right) will end up with the following HTML/CSS class:

<span class="bbc_right">
	Bla Bla Bla..
</span>


with specific CSS:
div.bbc_right {
	display: block;
	text-align: right;
}


the solution is to add direction property :
direction: rtl;

to be like this:
div.bbc_right {
	display: block;
	text-align: right;
	direction: rtl;
}


this will help us a lot at this point to write in our languages freely.


Note: i already tested the above solution in Firebug and it is working.

thank you all :)
0

#10 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,359
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 03 May 2011 - 06:42 AM

Problem is that we would like this option to be available only to certain forum... not all...

And the solution would need to be as simple as possible because of future forum software updates...
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

#11 User is offline   Muaid 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: 25-October 10
  • Location:Saudi Arabia

Posted 03 May 2011 - 07:46 AM

Quote

Problem is that we would like this option to be available only to certain forum... not all...


first thanks for your concern :rolleyes:

the good news is the property :
direction: rtl;

is all we need !! and it will not affect any LTR Language when use the BBCode (Align Right),,
and there is no need to make any exceptions for any languages or forums.


this problem is common in any RTL language and will not appear in any cases except when mixing RTL with LTR and vise versa .. and the above solution will do the trick.

you can do a heavy testing for this solution before apply it, to make sure it will not affect any other part of the whole forum (and also site).

you can do a quick demonstration and test for this problem at :

Here
(you can put any arabic word in the middle of the text and see the deferent between rtl and ltr)
عربي

thanks :)
0

#12 User is offline   Ali Borjian 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 19-January 11

Posted 04 May 2011 - 11:37 PM

View Postmdomba, on 03 May 2011 - 06:42 AM, said:

Problem is that we would like this option to be available only to certain forum... not all...

And the solution would need to be as simple as possible because of future forum software updates...


We are waiting for new version. Thx

0

#13 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,359
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 05 May 2011 - 02:12 AM

We added the BBcode for this...

[rtl] some text [/rtl]


Please test it and let me know if it solves your problem.
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

#14 User is offline   Muaid 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: 25-October 10
  • Location:Saudi Arabia

Posted 05 May 2011 - 05:40 AM

yes the new BBcode worked for me.

and adding icons in the editor is more efficient and handy specially for new members.

just like TinyMCE and CKEditor. :rolleyes:
0

#15 User is offline   Ali Borjian 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 19-January 11

Posted 05 May 2011 - 07:57 AM

It works for me too, Thank you for your support.

0

#16 User is offline   adsmail27 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 30-April 11

Posted 06 May 2011 - 10:23 PM

And Cleditor?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users