Yii Framework Forum: NivoSlider Usage Discussion - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

NivoSlider Usage Discussion Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 25 July 2010 - 10:21 AM

Just released the nivoslider extension. Try yorself.
0

#2 User is offline   robregonm 

  • Experienced Yii Developer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 30-July 09
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 27 July 2010 - 03:06 PM

Excellent extension. I have some recommendations:
  • Images list should be a parameter (example below)
  • slices paramenter should be automatically calculated (it will be easy if recommendation 1 is done)
  • customCss parameter should have a default value ('fancy' should be set)
  • Some other parameters should have a default value too (eg: effect, animSpeed, pauseTime, startSlide, ...)


A minimal full-working example could be:
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    'target'=>'#highlight',
    'images'=>array(
            array('url'=>'images/img01.png','label'=>'Comment for pic 1','link'=>'http://www.something.com'),
            array('url'=>'images/img02.jpg','label'=>'This is the picture 2'),
    )
)


Best regards.
Ricardo Obregón
LinkedIn Profile
YiiFramework en Español - http://yiiframework.co/ - Yii Code Generator for Bootstrap
http://obregon.co/ - https://1server.co/
PHP 5.5+, nginx, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Yii 1.x & 2.x, CanJS and more.
Follow me: @robregonm & @obregonco & @1ServerCo.
0

#3 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 28 July 2010 - 08:30 AM

View Postrobregonm, on 27 July 2010 - 03:06 PM, said:

Excellent extension. I have some recommendations:
  • Images list should be a parameter (example below)
  • slices paramenter should be automatically calculated (it will be easy if recommendation 1 is done)
  • customCss parameter should have a default value ('fancy' should be set)
  • Some other parameters should have a default value too (eg: effect, animSpeed, pauseTime, startSlide, ...)


A minimal full-working example could be:
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    'target'=>'#highlight',
    'images'=>array(
            array('url'=>'images/img01.png','label'=>'Comment for pic 1','link'=>'http://www.something.com'),
            array('url'=>'images/img02.jpg','label'=>'This is the picture 2'),
    )
)


Best regards.



Nice sugestions. I will consider them all. I will work on this today. Perhaps until evening I post the new version.
0

#4 User is offline   robregonm 

  • Experienced Yii Developer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 30-July 09
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:28 AM

View Postthiagovidal, on 28 July 2010 - 08:30 AM, said:

Nice sugestions. I will consider them all. I will work on this today. Perhaps until evening I post the new version.


No problem, I'll wait for it.
Best regards.
Ricardo Obregón
LinkedIn Profile
YiiFramework en Español - http://yiiframework.co/ - Yii Code Generator for Bootstrap
http://obregon.co/ - https://1server.co/
PHP 5.5+, nginx, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Yii 1.x & 2.x, CanJS and more.
Follow me: @robregonm & @obregonco & @1ServerCo.
0

#5 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 28 July 2010 - 01:14 PM

Hey robregonm. Thanks for suggestions. I tried to make the best version.

Just finish. Go there and download the 2.0 alpha version.

Please could you post the instructions from old version 1.0? I forgot to save it.

If you find any bugs please report me.
0

#6 User is offline   robregonm 

  • Experienced Yii Developer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 30-July 09
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 02 August 2010 - 03:47 PM

Excellent job, I'll give it a try, in fact, I'll implement it within a project I'm currently developing. If I find some bug I'll post it.
PS:
I think, it is not necessary to re-post the instructions of old version 1.0.

Best regards.
Ricardo Obregón
LinkedIn Profile
YiiFramework en Español - http://yiiframework.co/ - Yii Code Generator for Bootstrap
http://obregon.co/ - https://1server.co/
PHP 5.5+, nginx, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Yii 1.x & 2.x, CanJS and more.
Follow me: @robregonm & @obregonco & @1ServerCo.
0

#7 User is offline   MarcosMaa 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 05-November 10

Posted 16 November 2010 - 12:02 PM

Hi!

Where is the "images" directory?

NivoSlider is located at: protected/extensions

Documentation says the image path is: images/image-1.jpg
Where is the "images" directory?
images
protected/images
protected/extensions/images

I am using Yii 1.1.4 and NivoSlider 2.0

I am trying to use NivoSlider, but I just see the menu images control (some dots in the screen), but no images.


Many thanks!
Marcos
0

#8 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 16 November 2010 - 12:09 PM

View PostMarcosMaa, on 16 November 2010 - 12:02 PM, said:

Hi!

Where is the "images" directory?

NivoSlider is located at: protected/extensions

Documentation says the image path is: images/image-1.jpg
Where is the "images" directory?
images
protected/images
protected/extensions/images

I am using Yii 1.1.4 and NivoSlider 2.0

I am trying to use NivoSlider, but I just see the menu images control (some points in the screen), but no images.


Many thanks!
Marcos


Hey dude.

You can retrieve images from anywhere. Just use the correct relative path
if you want to retrieve the image located on root in folder images
use this

$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
'images'=>array( //@array images with images arrays.
array('src'=>'/images/image1.jpg'),
),
)
);

To solve the problem of visualization create a CSS linked to the nivoslider id and set the width and height to a fixed value.

Support add me on msn. thiagovidal@gmail.com

Bye
0

#9 User is offline   MarcosMaa 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 05-November 10

Posted 17 November 2010 - 06:17 AM

Hi Thiago!

How to use thumbs?


I have created the thumbs for each image.

In the "config" array, I am using:

'controlNavThumbs'=>true,
'controlNavThumbsSearch'=>'.jpg',
'controlNavThumbsReplace'=>'_thumb.jpg',

It works, but I just can see the last thumb.

Reading the documentation: http://dev7studios.c...he-nivo-slider/
It asks to configure CSS like:
#slider .nivo-controlNav {
position:absolute;
bottom:-70px; /* Put the nav below the slider */
}
#slider .nivo-controlNav img {
display:inline; /* Unhide the thumbnails */
position:relative;
margin-right:10px;
}
I wrote the code at:
/protected/extensions/nivoslider/assets/nivo-slider.css
/protected/extensions/nivoslider/assets/fancy-nivo-slider.css
But nothing changed.


Could you help?


Thanks
Marcos
0

#10 User is offline   cshelton 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 01-November 10

Posted 03 December 2010 - 12:31 PM

Anyone have any problems with NivoSlider not displaying the images on the first page load with a cleared cache? Other images on the page display fine, but the images for the slider will not show up unless the page has been viewed at least once.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

<?php
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    'images'=>array(
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=solutions',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ), //only display image.
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=events',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ),
        ),
    )
);
?>

0

#11 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 03 December 2010 - 12:49 PM

View Postcshelton, on 03 December 2010 - 12:31 PM, said:

Anyone have any problems with NivoSlider not displaying the images on the first page load with a cleared cache? Other images on the page display fine, but the images for the slider will not show up unless the page has been viewed at least once.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

<?php
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    'images'=>array(
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=solutions',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ), //only display image.
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=events',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ),
        ),
    )
);
?>




can i see the page runing?
0

#12 User is offline   cshelton 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 01-November 10

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:16 PM

View Postcshelton, on 03 December 2010 - 12:31 PM, said:

Anyone have any problems with NivoSlider not displaying the images on the first page load with a cleared cache? Other images on the page display fine, but the images for the slider will not show up unless the page has been viewed at least once.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

<?php
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    'images'=>array(
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=solutions',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ), //only display image.
        array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg', 'caption'=>false,
            'url'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/site/page?view=events',
            'linkOptions'=>array(),
            ),
        ),
    )
);
?>



It's only running local right now.
0

#13 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:20 PM

View Postcshelton, on 03 December 2010 - 01:16 PM, said:

It's only running local right now.


ok

i really never experienced this problem.

try this

<?php
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
'htmlOptions'=>array('style'=>'width: the width of images; height: the height;'),
'images'=>array(
array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg'),
array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg', 'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'events')),
)
);
?>
0

#14 User is offline   cshelton 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 01-November 10

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:39 PM

View Postthiagovidal, on 03 December 2010 - 01:20 PM, said:

ok

i really never experienced this problem.

try this

<?php
$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
'htmlOptions'=>array('style'=>'width: the width of images; height: the height;'),
'images'=>array(
array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg'),
array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg', 'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'events')),
)
);
?>


Thanks, your code got me close. A small correction and a few extra params and it works perfect. Looks like it was probably the htmlOptions that was the culprit. Unsure why, but it works now and that's all that matters!

Thanks again!

<?php
	$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    	'htmlOptions'=>array('style'=>'width: 480px; height: 265px;'),
    	'images'=>array(
        	array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg', 'caption'=>false),
        	array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg',
            	'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'cue60'),
            	'caption'=>false,
            	'linkOptions'=>array(),
            	),
    	)
	)
);
?>

0

#15 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:42 PM

View Postcshelton, on 03 December 2010 - 01:39 PM, said:

Thanks, your code got me close. A small correction and a few extra params and it works perfect. Looks like it was probably the htmlOptions that was the culprit. Unsure why, but it works now and that's all that matters!

Thanks again!

<?php
	$this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
    	'htmlOptions'=>array('style'=>'width: 480px; height: 265px;'),
    	'images'=>array(
        	array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image1.jpg', 'caption'=>false),
        	array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/images/slider/image2.jpg',
            	'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'cue60'),
            	'caption'=>false,
            	'linkOptions'=>array(),
            	),
    	)
	)
);
?>




nice man. by the way... its a nivoslider js problem... not from the widget. u don`t need to set caption to false... just strip it out... goto my site and see other style for the component/

htpp://www.othys.com.br
0

#16 User is offline   cshelton 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 01-November 10

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:49 PM

View Postthiagovidal, on 03 December 2010 - 01:42 PM, said:

nice man. by the way... its a nivoslider js problem... not from the widget. u don`t need to set caption to false... just strip it out... goto my site and see other style for the component/

htpp://www.othys.com.br


If I strip out the caption I get errors. Also, I tried looking around your site for examples, but I couldn't find any. My Spanish isn't that great either :)


PHP Error

Description
Undefined index: caption


Source File
/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/digistream/protected/extensions/nivoslider/CNivoSlider.php(99)








0

#17 User is offline   thiagovidal 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 17-February 10
  • Location:Brazil, São Paulo

Posted 06 December 2010 - 06:26 AM

View Postcshelton, on 03 December 2010 - 01:49 PM, said:

If I strip out the caption I get errors. Also, I tried looking around your site for examples, but I couldn't find any. My Spanish isn't that great either :)


PHP Error

Description
Undefined index: caption


Source File
/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/digistream/protected/extensions/nivoslider/CNivoSlider.php(99)


I sent a new version of extension. try use the new one. ok?
0

#18 User is offline   Khan 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 09-September 10

Posted 25 December 2010 - 03:10 PM

Hi, guys can some body help me with this extension as I did follow to extract all files in Extension folder and trying to use with following codes...

<?php
        $this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
        'images'=>array(
                array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/up.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-A'),
				array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/nemo.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-B'),
				array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/toystory.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-C'),
                array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/walle.jpg',
                'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'cue60'),
                'caption'=>false,
                'linkOptions'=>array(),
                ),
        )
        )
);
?>


But what I see after rendering the page is just those pictures on top of each and no slides working, please see the attached result of pic how they looks like.

Any thing missing as I can see all .JS and .CSS files loaded.

I look forward to see any help soon,

Have a good weekend.

Chao

Attached File(s)

  • Attached File  pic.JPG (33.48K)
    Number of downloads: 20

0

#19 User is offline   Khan 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 09-September 10

Posted 30 December 2010 - 07:46 PM

View PostKhan, on 25 December 2010 - 03:10 PM, said:

Hi, guys can some body help me with this extension as I did follow to extract all files in Extension folder and trying to use with following codes...

<?php
        $this->widget('application.extensions.nivoslider.CNivoSlider', array(
        'images'=>array(
                array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/up.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-A'),
				array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/nemo.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-B'),
				array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/toystory.jpg', 'caption'=>'caption-C'),
                array('src'=>Yii::app()->request->baseUrl.'/static/images/systemimages/walle.jpg',
                'url'=>array('/site/pages', 'view'=>'cue60'),
                'caption'=>false,
                'linkOptions'=>array(),
                ),
        )
        )
);
?>


But what I see after rendering the page is just those pictures on top of each and no slides working, please see the attached result of pic how they looks like.

Any thing missing as I can see all .JS and .CSS files loaded.

I look forward to see any help soon,

Have a good weekend.

Chao



Hi guys, it's look like got landed on wrong place :), anyway I got solved myself some how with little efforts and give a bit touch of CSS work and now looks more nice see the attached pic.

happy new year to all
0

#20 User is offline   Khan 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 09-September 10

Posted 30 December 2010 - 07:48 PM

Sorry the pic didn't uploaded so here it is..

Attached File(s)

  • Attached File  pic2.jpg (46.82K)
    Number of downloads: 26

0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users