Themes and css

I am theming my site and found it easy to follow the setup for alternate views etc. However, in the auto-generated code, the following code is used to render the css:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?php echo Yii::app()->request->baseUrl; ?>/css/screen.css" media="screen, projection" />

This doesn’t (afaik) take into account the current theme. I could use:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?php echo Yii::app()->theme->getBaseUrl(); ?>/css/screen.css" media="screen, projection" />

but this will break if there is no theme configured. Also, it doesn’t seem to follow the Yii approach. Is there a method somewhere that will check for a css in the current theme and if not found return the default, as with views?

If I can achieve the same thing a different way, then great.

Thanks

I’m new to Yii, so I’ve been scratching my head on this topic as well. To move forward, what I did here was create a dynamic baseUrl:

<?php $baseUrl = (Yii::app()->theme ? Yii::app()->theme->baseUrl : Yii::app()->request->baseUrl); ?>

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?php echo $baseUrl; ?>/css/screen.css" media="screen, projection" />

This lets you leave the "unthemed" css folder where it is, and create a new css folder under each theme. I am undecided if this is better than keeping all css folders under themes, moving the "unthemed" css folder to themes/classic:

<?php $baseUrl = (Yii::app()->theme ? Yii::app()->theme->baseUrl : Yii::app()->request->baseUrl . "/themes/classic"); ?>

I dislike both solutions because they put additional processing in the layout file.

No, that’s not the ‘right way to do it’ :)

Put the theme in ‘themes/yourtheme’.

Then put your views in themes/yourtheme/views.

That includes the main layout files, plus all theme dependent views.

That’s it. No parsing.

The only place you refer to your theme from outside of the themes directory would be when you set it, like in your config:

'theme' => 'freshy2',