Yii Framework Forum: [Tutorial] How to install Yii on Windows - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[Tutorial] How to install Yii on Windows Easily install Yii on your windows local machine Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#1 User is offline   AbdullahSZ 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 30-March 10

Posted 30 March 2010 - 08:22 AM

Hello,

I was having a hard time figuring out how to install Yii on my Windows machine. Then I found this blog entry but it didn't completely work for me. I got stuck at step 18 because the command line can't find php.exe.

Solution:
Open yiic.bat with notepad and put the complete path to your php.exe, like this:
if "%PHP_COMMAND%" == "" set PHP_COMMAND=C:\wamp\bin\php\php5.3.0\php.exe

Save and apply step 18 again. BTW, you can skip steps 1 to 12.

Hope it helps.
AbdullahSZ,
0

#2 User is offline   jonah 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 733
  • Joined: 27-November 08
  • Location:California (US)

Posted 30 March 2010 - 11:55 AM

You can also set PHP_COMMAND globally as an environment variable, and not touch yiic.php ever.

http://www.google.co...ariable&spell=1
http://php-thoughts.cubedwater.com - my bloggings about Yii
0

#3 User is offline   3logy 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 26 May 2010 - 07:37 PM

View Postjonah, on 30 March 2010 - 11:55 AM, said:

You can also set PHP_COMMAND globally as an environment variable, and not touch yiic.php ever.

http://www.google.co...ariable&spell=1


How? i try it but without success!! i insert a new variable : "PHP_COMMAND" with value = "C:\xampp\php\"...

Thanks !!
0

#4 User is offline   jonah 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 733
  • Joined: 27-November 08
  • Location:California (US)

Posted 26 May 2010 - 10:38 PM

Depends on the operating system. Google "set environment variable [OS]". Also, I do not know the path of php on xampp
http://php-thoughts.cubedwater.com - my bloggings about Yii
0

#5 User is offline   Abdul Aziz 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-December 10

Posted 13 December 2010 - 12:04 PM

for those of you who haven't figured it out yet,

create a folder called testdrive in your web root

say your web root is at c:/wamp/www
and you yii root is at c:/yii

1 . open windows command line
2 . type

c:/wamp/bin/php/php5.3.0/php.exe c:/yii/framework/yiic.php webapp testdrive

once done, you should have all the files inside testdrive
2

#6 User is offline   Jimako 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 23-January 12
  • Location:Slovak Republic

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:36 PM

Thank you, I had the same problem. It helped. Only: 1B. cd c:/wamp/www
0

#7 User is offline   choks 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 13
  • Location:NAIROBI

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:18 AM

thanks abdul your suggestion worked for me
0

#8 User is offline   Webitech Solutions 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 19-June 13

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:20 PM

@ AbdullahSZ

Great! Thanks! After trying many tutorials this one finally worked for me.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users