Avoid overridind your modifications with model autogeneration

Hi,

I’m new to Yii.

I used the auto generation of the models described here http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/blog/prototype.scaffold

But later in the tutorial, we are asked to modified the auto generated files ( http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/blog/post.model ) . What happens if we change the database and want to generate again the corresponding Yii model ? The modification we had adde in the auto generated files will be lost ?

I must miss something.

Thanks for your help.

You need to do a manual merge (between the modified file and the newly generated file).

Oh thx but I’m quite disapointed by this answer. Would it be a good idea to extend the auto generated files and make the modifications only in those extended files ?

I think that the task to automatically update the model is too complex. I mean, how would it deal with a model, that are massively edited and supplied with custom methods, variables, validation etc…?

If you eg. change the name of a column in your db, you would have to change every reference to this propertys name, not only in the model and behaviors, but also in your controllers and views. It would be impossible to fully automate, and would very likely end up, with you loosing the control over whats get updated and not. And you would most likely have to go through the code anyway.

The best and safest way in my opinion is like Qiang said. To generate the model again and then manually copying and inserting the new code, that is needed, into the existing model.

sorry,I have no idea!

Open up the command shell like the documentation states in your first post.

Type:

model NewModel TableName

(where NewModel is a name you provide for the model (just name it something different than the tablename) and TableName is the name of the table which this model belongs to and is the name of the table in which you have made changes).