Starting new data management project - some thoughs appreciated

Hello Yii community,

I am new in here but certainly will last to Yii for long from what I have seen now :)

I am starting to create an application which is designed to manage data for companies selling mainly outdoor day trips (e.g. hikes, rafting etc). The application at the moment is a project purely for myself to get back into IT, as I studied computer science and did quite some PHP programming but stopped 8 years ago and joined the outdoor tour guiding business.

So now I want to get back into web programming using modern technologies like REST/AJAX and a modern framework which saves me a lot of work - that’s how I found Yii :)

Ok, so my project is building a data management website for outdoor tours. This means:

• The application is a backend application only (some frontend for guides and partners could be provided later)

• The views will show a lot forms to rapidly change the data

• Any page will be accessible only to logged in admins

The 4 main data parts in my model at the moment are:

• the tours

• guides to guide the tours

• groups in which people book the tours

• guests belonging to these groups

Later on, online booking could be integrated, so that a code snippet is integrated into an existing website.

To give you an idea of what the application should do, I made uploaded 4 screen designs that show how the main data types could be managed. Please don’t look at the HTML/CSS code, its ugly, only meant to show the functionality.

As you can see, lots of forms.

There is quite some of m:n relations in there:

• A Tour can have several groups, a group can belong to several tours

• A group can have several guests, a guest can belong to several groups

• A guide can have several tours, a tour can have serveral guides

Also, filtering/searching the lists, especially the tour list. In a real live company with around 700 tours a year and 5000 guests a year, this function is needed.