Undefined Class Yii?

Hi guys!

I am new to the Yii Framework, and setup was a pain.

Now I’m trying to do a SQL query, which puts a PhP variable in a MYSQL database.

But I get the error Undefined Class Yii in <path>

Code:

use Yii;

$sql = “INSERT INTO accounts (username, password) VALUES (’$usrname’, ‘$passw’)”;

$command = Yii::$app->db->createCommand($sql);

$command->execute();

Try using \Yii.

use \Yii or $command = \Yii… still gets me the same error

You are saying that "setup was a pain" … so I am curious: how exactly did you setup Yii ?

It is normally not a pain at all.

Does anything work?

How did you install?

Well ok, it wasn’t really that much of a pain. But I am so unfimiliar with Linux that caused it to take so long.

I installed it via Composer, and it constantly threw errors because I tried to create a project with the exact same name - which I later found out -

But then I had to install PhPMyAdmin, which I couldnt get all the way through the install, because it threw error 2002: HY00 Can’t connect to local MySQL server through socket. But when I ignored the error, it worked just fine.

Maybe it has something to do with this?

Doesn’t sound like it’s connected.

Where do you put your code from the first post? In a controller action?

I made an ‘Make new Account’ page in backend/web. That is where I put my code.

I could give you the whole file when I get home if you want to, but it’s not that interesting.

You’ll have to use the start script backend/web/index.php. Add a create action that will render a view to the backend/controllers/SiteController (or some new controller you create). Add a view to backend/views/<controllername>/<the view to render>

The Gii tool will simplify the task.

The Gii installation explanation is very unclear. I dont have a \config\web.php.

Note that I’m using the Advanced template.

If you are at the server, you should be able to use Gii directly.