How could learning Yii become easier?

On a semi-regular base, forum-users mention how the Yii documentation could be improved and how Yii is generally difficult to learn.

I’m curious, how exactly could things be improved? What did you guys struggle with when you started out with Yii?

IMO, it’s not only Yii but framework in general that is difficult to learn.

Generally we have to have a patience to continue reading through documentation until we finally come to a point where we can clearly see the whole structure of the framework. It took me about 6 months to break through. The initial climb was the steepest.

When I started learning Yii several years ago, advanced members in this forum used to say to the beginners that they must read the guide. "Read through the guide, at least twice." "90% of your questions will be answered by reading the guide." "API reference may look tasteless at first glance, but it really is a book of treasure." and so on.

Have things changed since then? No, I don’t think so.

The biggest problem is that not enough people use it and not enough people write about it.

Take laravel for example. If you want to find out how to do xxx for laravel, you just google it. You’ll find the answer very quickly, probably on stackoverflow, official laravel forums, laracasts forums, github, or even a random blog post. Do the same thing on yii and there’s a good chance you won’t even find anything.

One example I ran into myself is how to implement JWT auth. Here’s a full example for laravel, but no such tutorial exists for yii2.

Well…

Right, I should have emphasized the “full tutorial” point. Sure there are packages out there, but they don’t guide you through. You need to look at it deeply and then do a bunch of other further research to really understand it.

Whereas the laravel guide walks you through the entire thing - what jwt is, how does it work, how to set it up in laravel, etc. That’s the difference.

That pretty much sums it up.