User relations - how to use properly

Hi,

I’m a newbie at yii so please be patient ;D I’ve been reading documents and posts for days now and just can’t seem to make any progress so I thought I’d ask the forum.

I’m trying to create an application (based on the basic application) that has a db schema something like this:

Many Users can belong to an Organisation

An Organisation has many Datasets

A Datasets has many Filesets

A Fileset has many Files

The User, Organisation, Datasets, Fileset, Files are all tables with the correct FK relations setup.

I’ve got GII to spit out the Models and CRUD correctly. The models have all nice relations setup thanks to GII. For example:

User has

/**

* @return \yii\db\ActiveQuery

*/

public function get Organisation()

{

return $this->hasOne(Organisation::className(), ['id' => 'organisation_id']);

}

Organisation has

/**

*/

public function getDatasets()

{

return $this->hasMany(Dataset::className(), ['organisation_id' => 'id']);

}

Dataset has

/**

*/

public function getFilesets()

{

return $this->hasMany(Fileset::className(), ['dataset_id' => 'id']);

}

I’ve got the Login Form linked to the User table following http://www.yiiframework.com/doc-2.0/guide-security-authentication.html

But where I’m stuck is in the next part I’m trying to achieve:

1. When a User is logged I want him to be able to go to organisation/index and edit only his organisation details. As expected at the moment when I go there I see all organisation listed and can edit any.

2. When a User is logged in I want him to be able to go to datasets/index and edit only the datasets that his organisation has created . As expected at the moment when I got there I see all the datasets that any Organisation has created.