Yii2 project installation

Hey all.

I am 99% new to Yii2 so I need some basic understanding of best practice. The 1% is that I installed the basic template and got it up and running. I even tried the migration. :)

I am an experienced developer and so I am not new to frameworks, mvc, extensions and all that. I am a pro developer for i.e. TYPO3 and Drupal. Enough of my background. Just so you know I do not need to have it from the beginning.

I got a new job and after a short time, I finally convinced the other developers that the homemade framework was old and not fleksible, not maintainable etc. We are wasting increadible amount of time to maintain existing codebase. And it is getting harder and harder to maintain it.

SO - I am trying to find out how to proove that Yii2 is the way to go. And I need your help for that. I need to build an administration-system from the scratch up. And Yii2 fits perfectly in here, in my oppinion.

I have searched for best practice of how to make "something" and to have an installation-routine for the project. But up to now, it has been unclear for me. I do not want to invent something where others already been.

Does anyone know whats the best practices of installing a project, how to build an installation-program of some sort. I guess you guys do not install i.e. a yii2 based cms by running migrations?

That is a difficult question :)

I would probably develop an administration module and then create a Composer project.

Installation would then just be a simple call

composer create-project you/your_starter_project

The basic project template has some initialization code that runs in the post create hook - take a look at the composer.json for that.

As for the actual user-driven installation, one way of doing this is to have either an installation controller or an installation module combined with a check for the existence of a .lock file somewhere…

I haven’t actually looked into creating installers for Yii 2 yet…