Yii powered website on a "cloud"

Hello all, here at work they bought some servers on a cloud system, that is nothing more than two mirrored servers accessed through a load balancer (well… if you want, call it round robin selection).

Now my application is both serving a web administration interface and a flash game.

Of course if a session get started on a server and the next call will be redirected to the other server the session isn’t there anymore forcing the user to login again in the best of the cases, thing that shouldn’t happen within the game itself.

I wonder what’s the best solution to handle this problems since I’m very new to these things and from my humble point of view a cluster could have made the trick… but who knows!

I’d really like to know what do you think, about the problem itself (session handling) and about the “cloud” stuff: most of the tech ppl are just throwing bad words at it.

thanks.

You could use database or memcache as session handler, that way the sessions would be available on both servers.

thanks for the quick reply.

Anyway if in some sort I can understand how a db can solve this issue, I don’t get how memcached can (since I’ve never used it), if the word stands for something and the data is “memory cached” the problem arises again, how do you share the “memory”? is there something I miss?

The database or memcache server must be on one of the servers. Both servers connect to the same database or memcache server.

Memcache is a usual cache but supports tcp as well. So the data is physically only on one server, still you can access it from the other.

oh I see, didn’t know that. Seems like a nice solution indeed, I’ll see what I can do to implement memcache into the application.

Thanks a lot.

No problem. Actually most big websites handle caching with memcache. For example you could setup 10 physical memcache servers and add them all to your config:

'components' => array(

'globalcache' => array(

'class' => 'CMemCache',