Future of php

hi i am new comer in programming fraternity. i am currently working as a php trainee but my elder brother(ASP.NET developer) is telling me that php is fastly being replaced by other languages and i should either study .NET or JAVA. most of the programmers(not php prgmers) i’ve met regard us like a third grade programmers.

is there a future for php and its developers?

Definitely a future!

And a very bright one.

I am a C++ programmer as well (and know Python, Java, Lisp, …) and I am aware that there are a lot of "experts" who regard PHP as a horrible language.

Yes, 10 years ago - 5 years ago even - the average PHP code was horrible!

But take a look at the clean code that Yii has. Look at the beauty and elegance of modern PHP frameworks and compare that to what people are doing in .NET and Java.

Yes, PHP has baggage and quirky features, a lot of inconsistent functions, but that is a price you have to pay for backwards compatibility…

Javascript is also being called a horrible language…

I personally like it. ;)

Look at the rate at which PHP is progressing and you’ll see that it is far from dead.

PHP 7 is on the horizon now.

I love PHP!

You can write beautiful code with it.

You can use dependency injection, anonymous functions, …

I like that it is a bit… DIRTY! :D

http://w3techs.com/technologies/overview/programming_language/all

Those statistics speaks volumes SamDark :)

thanks for the reply guys. i think php has a bright future as long u guys r there.

Hi,

PHP is the best language definitely with a very good future.Java is preferred just because it is highly secure, but it never means that PHP has no future.Moreover, PHP is an open source language while ASP.net is not.And definitely as a server side language for websites PHP is the most used one.