json_decode() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given

Hello guys,

I am new in learning yii2. I’m getting this error when I’m trying to load the index page.

The 1st strack trace displays the function loginByCookie() under vendor/yiisoft/yii2/web/User.php file (see the code below)

protected function loginByCookie()

{

$value = Yii::$app->getRequest()->getCookies()->getValue($this->identityCookie['name']);

if ($value === null) {

return;

}

$data = json_decode($value, true);

if (count($data) !== 3 || !isset($data[0], $data[1], $data[2])) {

return;

}

list ($id, $authKey, $duration) = $data;

/* @var $class IdentityInterface */

$class = $this->identityClass;

$identity = $class::findIdentity($id);

if ($identity === null) {

return;

} elseif (!$identity instanceof IdentityInterface) {

throw new InvalidValueException("$class::findIdentity() must return an object implementing IdentityInterface.");

}

if ($identity->validateAuthKey($authKey)) {

if ($this->beforeLogin($identity, true, $duration)) {

$this->switchIdentity($identity, $this->autoRenewCookie ? $duration : 0);

$ip = Yii::$app->getRequest()->getUserIP();

Yii::info("User '$id' logged in from $ip via cookie.", __METHOD__);

$this->afterLogin($identity, true, $duration);

}

} else {

Yii::warning("Invalid auth key attempted for user '$id': $authKey", __METHOD__);

}

}

It specifies the error on this line

$data = json_decode($value, true); 

I already cleared the cache of my browser but the error always appears. Is there anything that I miss or something I forgot to do?

Please help.

Thank you.

Apparently your $value is an array instead of string. You need to check what is returned with Yii::$app->getRequest()->getCookies()->getValue($this->identityCookie[‘name’]);

what does not make sense to me why are you decoding a cookie

This is the framework code from Yii2.

@bizley I know its yii 2 what I mean by does not make sense in terms of code, I meant in terms logic what is he trying to do