Problem with Oracle PDO connectivity

Hi all:

I’m new to PHP and frameworks so perhaps what I’m doing is wrong and I can’t tell but here it goes…

Environment:

• Oracle 10g (10.2.0.4) under Windows Server 2003 SP2

• Oracle Apache server 1.3

• PHP 5.2.11 for Windows

• Yii 1.1rc.r1585

Background:

Apache wouldn’t load the php_pdo_oci.dll extension from PHP 5.2.11 but the PHP CLI did load it. With it, yiic would allow the creation of models and cruds but since Apache didn’t recognize it, whenever I tried to access the list.php page for the model I would get a “driver not found” error. I downgraded to the dll from EasyPHP 2.0b (PHP 5.0?) as both Apache and the CLI seem to recognize it.

The problem:

If I write a simple page with the following statement:

$conn = new PDO(‘oci:dbname=mydb’, ‘myusername’, ‘mypassword’);

it executes fine with no errors. However, when setting up the Yii connection in protected\config\main.php as follows:

‘db’=>array(

'class'=>'CDbConnection',

'connectionString'=>'oci:mydb',

'username'=>'myusername',

'password'=>'mypassword',

and then attempt to create a model using yiic I get the following error message:

exception ‘CDbException’ with message 'CDbConnection failed to open the DB conne

ction: SQLSTATE[HY000]: pdo_oci_handle_factory: ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter

error ext\pdo_oci\oci_driver.c:579)’ in I:\WEB\yii\framework\db\CDbConnection.php:262

I have also tried the long connectionString ‘oci://servername:1521/mydb’ to no avail.

The question is, do I have a .dll problem, a syntax problem or is it a Yii bug? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

José

Make sure You have php_pdo_oci8.dll and php_oci8.dll extensions dissabled (in Your php.ini), leave only one that suits Your env, that is php_pdo_oci.dll. I had the same prob few days ago :)

The same above and certify yourself that you are using Oracle CLIENT 10+ version (install OracleXE on your dev machine and it shoul work properly).