Related Models and Joins

I love yii! I have been using it for a few years now, and feel like i really know my way around the framework. However, there are a couple of areas where my understanding really breaks down. One of them is AR and joins/with/together. I’ve read the docs, and for some reason cannot seem to comprehend what exactly is going on. Perhaps if I describe a specific scenario, someone can explain that to me in YII/AR language.

So…lets imagine the scenario where i have a user table, a group table, and a group_mapping table. I want to run a query that would return all the User models that belong to a specific group (which is determined by their presence in the mapping table). I have defined a relationship between the two models and can run a query against groupMapping, and then look at the related model, but what I really want is the User model just for the ones in the specific group.

Any help would be appreciated.

Define a parameterized named scope in user model:

public function byGroupId($groupId)

{

$this->dbCriteria->addCondition('EXISTS (SELECT * FROM  group_mapping WHERE user_id = ' . $this->tableAlias . '  .id AND  group_id = :group_id)');

$this->dbCriteria->params[':group_id'] = $groupId;

return $this;

}

And use it:

$users = User::model()->byGroupId($groupId)->findAll();

How do your models look like? This sounds like a MANY MANY relationship. If it is, then it should be as simple as grabbing a specific group then loading all related users

[size="2"]Hi[/size]

For speed I am mainly copying code here.

I have a similar case where I have Users that can be Supervisor of another User. The ‘ParentChild’ table defines the relations between users. One of the relations is supervising which is defined in a scope called ‘supervises’ on the ParentChild.

Here is an extract of the relations:

/* Supervision */

'supervisor' => array(

self::HAS_ONE,'User',array('parent_id'=>'entity_id'), // Supervisor is the parent