gRbac - User registration, authentication and management

gRbac - User registration, authentication and management

test drive: http://grbac.gemisoft.com/

user: admin

pasword: password

Cool, I like the confirm email part.

How did you do that part?

I generate a random validation code and mail the user to confirm registration. The confirmation link intercept the code to validate, after which the account is set to active.

Very good and useful extension. Congratulations. I have a simple recommendation for now. I think you should use PHPMailer (mailer extension) instead of email extension. However, I have to say that gRbac is a very useful extension.

Regards

Thanks for the recommendation, I will definitely use it in next version when the base code is cleaned up.

This is how my password generation looks like. I am total newbie when it come to the web security.

Please see and suggest if it is a good idea to use part of the user.created TS for salt.

protected function beforeSave()

{

$hashAlgo = Yii::app()->getModule('grbac')->hashAlgo;

// random salt =CCYYmmddHH, it must be set along with created, latter we will using created to derive the salt.

$salt     = date("YmdH");

$this->created = new CDbExpression('NOW()');

$this->created = date("Y-m-d H:i:s");

if (!function_exists('hash')) $this->password = md5($this->passwordNew.$salt);

else                          $this->password = hash($hashAlgo, $this->passwordNew.$salt);

return parent::beforeSave();

}

Where can I download the latest version.

Do you use SVN/Mercurial for Subversioning?

There is no published files at http://www.yiiframework.com/extension/grbac/

Regards

added the pre-release file.

Please see the PM

Gr8,

I’ll give it a try and I tell you my experience.

Regards

Sure, please download the new copy. I updated the UserIdentity

I am putting appropriate comments in the code and re-factoring the code.