Can't Get The Theme Css To Work

Hello Everybody,

I’m new to the Yii Framework (all web development subjects for that matter) and I’m working through the Packt Publishing’s Beginning Yii.

My directory structre is something like:

/protected

/runtime

/www

All has been defined accordingly in main.php based on the course video and site is working just fine.

Through the course, there is a task regarding themes to be accomplished. Instructions are simple enough:

1. copy the www folder from the course package to the related folder (in my case, /webroot/www/themes

themes folder includes:

classic

../views

../../layouts

../../site

../../system

photoGal

../css

../../screen.css

../images

../../bg.png

../views

../../layouts

../../site

../../system

1. define the layout name in the protected/config/main.php

I have done as I asked, but theme did not seemed to work at all. I decided to tinker with the theme provided CSS a bit, but it does not seem to take any effect on the rendered webpage. I decided to go deep and I found the www/main.css file. When I change this, it does take effect. But when I change the www/themes/photoGal/css/screen.css file, it has no effect at all.

When I try to output <?php echo Yii::app()->theme->name ?> on a view, it prints out photoGal, so I think it is not related to the configuration.

Any ideas?

Make sure the path to screen.css in a layout is:

Yii::app()->theme->baseUrl.'/css/screen.css'

Hi Andy, thanks for your response.

I just inserted an echo statement for ->theme->baseUrl to one of my pages, it outputs:

/themes/photoGal

and path to my screen css is:

/themes/photoGal/css/screen.css

It seems ok, but still no luck.

Check page source code. Is /themes/photoGal/css/screen.css being loaded in head section? If styles don’t apply, then I guess not…

It seems it loads css files from /css folder only (/css/screen.css, /css,print.css etc). /themes/photoGal is not present in the source whatsoever.