• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Transition To Yii Framework Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   joppo20 

• Yii
  • Group: Members

Posted 24 October 2013 - 12:34 PM

Hi,

I'm just learning about the Yii framework and have the following question: A few months ago I started developing a websystem based on 'traditional' languages (php, html, javascript/jquery). That was also my first experience with those languages. Then I read about the php frameworks including Yii and the advantages of rapid prototype development and now I'm thinking of moving to the Yii development framework. My question (and dilemma): how easy/difficult is it to rewrite the existing (php/html/javascript/jquery) code to code for the yii platform? I developed a few webpages with formfields that are created (and be deleted) dynamiccally using jquery. Another page includes a lot of javascript code for performing some complex calculations.With my current little knowlegde I'm not sure whether I can reuse some of my current code or whether it's going to be a pain to create such kind of dynamic webpages with Yii?

Appreciate your views on this.

Joppo20

#2 User is offline   yugene 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii

Posted 24 October 2013 - 07:52 PM

Good idea is first of all to follow yii blog tutorial (if you haven't yet).
As the next step, the system you describe can be a good studying project. If this system is in a production mode, and won't be changed a lot, you may leave it as it is, creating the same functionalities with yii at localhost, for example, that would give you a chance to study framework and get accustomed to it. After finishing this project, I think, you will be able to decide if to replace production with a new setup.