Yii Framework Forum: IDE - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

IDE Rate Topic: -----

#41 User is offline   will 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: 21-March 09

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:29 AM

Quote

Quote

Quote

TextMate is what I'm using. Beats everything else hands down...



pieter


Have a Bundle to share?



May have to try this NetBeans. Atm on Textmate in OSX and simply gedit in Linux, using Netbeans on both sounds more efficient!



//Magnus




No bundle yet for Yii and TextMate...



pieter


some one is working on it
http://code.google.c...extmate-bundle/
0

#42 User is offline   PoL 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 506
  • Joined: 05-November 08
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:53 AM

I use NetBeans 6.5.
It rocks.
I you define a custom include path in the project, NetBeans offers autocomplete, etc.
Also, you can debug the php, not just the javascript.

0

#43 User is offline   ekerazha 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 541
  • Joined: 10-October 08
  • Location:European Union

Posted 15 April 2009 - 10:32 AM

Quote

I use netbeans for bigger projects, and intype beta for quick edit and fast writing. I wish there were a yii bundle for it oO


Same here, netbeans + intype ;)
0

#44 User is offline   Armando 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 11-November 08
  • Location:Brazil - Rio de Janeiro

Posted 15 May 2009 - 04:00 PM

I'm using Netbeans 6.5 PHP and ( Notepad++ to open file PHP when i'm in explorer... right button... simple and fast ).

;)
0

#45 User is offline   GoofyX 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted 16 May 2009 - 01:45 AM

Quote

NETBEANS 6.5 with php and jquery support is superior for Yii development. You have all core php code completion, yii classes code completion, jquery code completion and now with the nighlty build you can declare that the $this variable in view scrip files is of type "CController". I think it is amazing


Netbeans is nice, but the code completion does not always work for me. For example, typing

Yii::app()->


in the controller, does not display a list of possible functions or members. Sometimes the code completion works, but it could work a lot better for me. I used to use Eclipse for my Java projects a couple of years ago and it was excellent. I somehow cannot use the 64-bit bundled version of PDT Eclipse in my Gentoo Linux, so I have to user Netbeans, which works smoothly. The only complaint I have for Netbeans 6.5 is the code completion feature.

I also suggest everyone mentions the OS where they use their favorite PHP editor. In my case, it's 64-bit Gentoo Linux and Windows XP, so my needs is for a cross-platform PHP editor.
0

#46 User is offline   moho 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: 25-April 09

Posted 16 May 2009 - 04:47 PM

I have been using EditPlus for many years. It serves me well. Its regular exp​ression funcntion is the best but enough for me.
0

#47 User is offline   henqi 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 10-March 09

Posted 16 May 2009 - 11:19 PM

Hi GoofyX, do you have any solution for this issue? I also facing same problem in Netbeans 6.5, which could be better to handle this case.

It will be best if additional level:

Yii::app()->user->  ;D

Anybody has any suggestion?



Quote

Quote

NETBEANS 6.5 with php and jquery support is superior for Yii development. You have all core php code completion, yii classes code completion, jquery code completion and now with the nighlty build you can declare that the $this variable in view scrip files is of type "CController". I think it is amazing




Netbeans is nice, but the code completion does not always work for me. For example, typing



Yii::app()->




in the controller, does not display a list of possible functions or members. Sometimes the code completion works, but it could work a lot better for me. I used to use Eclipse for my Java projects a couple of years ago and it was excellent. I somehow cannot use the 64-bit bundled version of PDT Eclipse in my Gentoo Linux, so I have to user Netbeans, which works smoothly. The only complaint I have for Netbeans 6.5 is the code completion feature.



I also suggest everyone mentions the OS where they use their favorite PHP editor. In my case, it's 64-bit Gentoo Linux and Windows XP, so my needs is for a cross-platform PHP editor.

0

#48 User is offline   GoofyX 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted 17 May 2009 - 03:07 AM

Quote

Hi GoofyX, do you have any solution for this issue? I also facing same problem in Netbeans 6.5, which could be better to handle this case.


So, I am not the only one with this issue. That's good to hear.

Eclipse was the king in code completion. It looked for each return type and displayed all methods and properties, regardless of the level.

Anyway...
0

#49 User is offline   henqi 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 10-March 09

Posted 17 May 2009 - 03:58 AM

Hi, so you mean Ecplise can handle this case? I tried Aptana Studio, the code completion is worse then NetBeans 6.5. Do you mean the Eclipse with PDT?


Quote

Quote

Hi GoofyX, do you have any solution for this issue? I also facing same problem in Netbeans 6.5, which could be better to handle this case.




So, I am not the only one with this issue. That's good to hear.



Eclipse was the king in code completion. It looked for each return type and displayed all methods and properties, regardless of the level.



Anyway...

0

#50 User is offline   GoofyX 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted 17 May 2009 - 04:00 AM

Quote

Hi, so you mean Ecplise can handle this case? I tried Aptana Studio, the code completion is worse then NetBeans 6.5. Do you mean the Eclipse with PDT?


Yes. I haven't tried PDT Eclipse much, but a couple of years ago, in a few Java projects, Eclipse rocked in that feature. I guess the same would be for PDT. :)
0

#51 User is offline   Jack 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 15-May 09

Posted 17 May 2009 - 04:47 AM

Quote

Yes. I haven't tried PDT Eclipse much, but a couple of years ago, in a few Java projects, Eclipse rocked in that feature. I guess the same would be for PDT. :)


I use Eclipse PDT and i had noticed already that the particular case you mentioned

Yii::app()->


Doesn't work either ;)
0

#52 User is offline   Deepak Pradhan 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: 01-May 09
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted 01 June 2009 - 12:23 AM

EditPlus and Komodo
0

#53 User is offline   revo110 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 04-March 09

Posted 01 June 2009 - 12:40 AM

I use Netbeans, while I also develop JME Application using it. So far, Netbeans to me is the best JME and PHP IDE out there.
0

#54 User is offline   pestaa 

  • past Yii dev member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: 07-May 09
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 05 June 2009 - 02:36 PM

I prefer Notepad++ with some plugins. I'm disappointed in code completion, doesn't help me too much. :)
0

#55 User is offline   Spyros 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 461
  • Joined: 14-April 09
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted 05 June 2009 - 03:08 PM

I used Zend studio till version 5.5 , version 6 was useless
Now I'm happy with net beans (I also work on various java projects)
As for the Yii::app()-> completion doesn't work
But as we can see Yii.php simply extends YiiBase so if you use
YiiBase::app() -> instead, code completion really works
0

#56 User is offline   GoofyX 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:46 PM

OK, take a look at the attached screenshots. This is what I was talking about in my previous messages.

The first is from Netbeans 6.5 (Linux). Although 6.7RC2 (Windows) exhibits the same behaviour.

The second is from the latest version of Eclipse PDT (Build id: 20090619-0625, Linux again).

As I thought, Eclipse has far more better code completion, which is very important for me, so I am switching back to it. I wish the previous builds provided from eclipse.org would run in my Linux 64-bit box. This latest one seems to run fine. Bye-bye Netbeans. :)
0

#57 User is offline   imehesz 

  • Master Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 716
  • Joined: 13-June 09
  • Location:Jacksonville, FL

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:57 PM

Quote

I'm using Netbeans 6.5 PHP.. it rocks .. if you specify in the project include path the framework path you'll have also code completion and suggestions from the php documentor tags.


same here, NB is awesome so far...

--iM
0

#58 User is offline   PoL 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 506
  • Joined: 05-November 08
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:02 PM

Net beans have autocompletion too, at least for me works (in my work and in my home too).
Just add the Yii framework to the include path of the project.
0

#59 User is offline   GoofyX 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:05 PM

@PoL: Try
Yii::app()->
and press Ctrl+Space to display the list of completion code...
0

#60 User is offline   PoL 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 506
  • Joined: 05-November 08
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:19 PM

Works for me.
Im using NB 6.7 on Windows XP (tested on Window 7 too).


0

Share this topic:


  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users