Yii Framework Forum: Deploying Yii On Internet - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Deploying Yii On Internet Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   kingcharles 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 13-March 13

Posted 16 May 2013 - 06:47 PM

Hi everyone,

I have an app ready for deployment. My ISP has only one folder where I can put the yii framework and this is has the unchangable name of private. This folder cannot be accessed by web users. I get:
Error 500
CDbConnection failed to open the DB connection.

My folder structure is like this:
anonftp
bin
cgi-bin
.
.
httpdocs
________rouleur
_______________assets
_______________css
_______________images
_______________protected
_______________themes
_______________index.php
private
_______framework
.
.

In my index.php I have changed the path to framework

<?php

// change the following paths if necessary
$yii=dirname(__FILE__).'/../private/framework/yii.php';
$config=dirname(__FILE__).'/protected/config/main.php';

require_once($yii);
Yii::createWebApplication($config)->run();


In my config/main.php:

<?php

// uncomment the following to define a path alias
// Yii::setPathOfAlias('local','path/to/local-folder');

// This is the main Web application configuration. Any writable
// CWebApplication properties can be configured here.
return array(
	'basePath'=>dirname(__FILE__).DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR.'..',
	'name'=>'Rouleur',

	// preloading 'log' component
	'preload'=>array('log','bootstrap'),

	// autoloading model and component classes
	'import'=>array(
		'application.models.*',
		'application.components.*',
	),

	'modules'=>array(
		// uncomment the following to enable the Gii tool
		/*
		'gii'=>array(
			'class'=>'system.gii.GiiModule',
			'password'=>'test',
			// If removed, Gii defaults to localhost only. Edit carefully to taste.
			'ipFilters'=>array('127.0.0.1','::1'),
                        'generatorPaths'=>array(
                            'bootstrap.gii'
                        ),
		),
		*/
	),

	// application components
	'components'=>array(
		'user'=>array(
			// enable cookie-based authentication
			'allowAutoLogin'=>true,
                        'class' => 'WebUser',
		),
                'bootstrap'=>array(
                    'class'=>'ext.bootstrap.components.Bootstrap',
                    'responsiveCss'=>true,
                ),
            

		// uncomment the following to enable URLs in path-format
		/*
		'urlManager'=>array(
			'urlFormat'=>'path',
			'rules'=>array(
				'<controller:\w+>/<id:\d+>'=>'<controller>/view',
				'<controller:\w+>/<action:\w+>/<id:\d+>'=>'<controller>/<action>',
				'<controller:\w+>/<action:\w+>'=>'<controller>/<action>',
			),
		),
		*/
            
            /*
		'db'=>array(
			'connectionString' => 'sqlite:'.dirname(__FILE__).'/../data/testdrive.db',
		),
             * 
             * 
             */
		// uncomment the following to use a MySQL database
		
		'db'=>array(
			'connectionString' => 'mysql:host=localhost;dbname=rouleur',
			'emulatePrepare' => true,
			'username' => 'username',
			'password' => 'password',
			'charset' => 'utf8',
                        'tablePrefix'=>'_tbl',
		),
		
		'errorHandler'=>array(
			// use 'site/error' action to display errors
			'errorAction'=>'site/error',
		),
		'log'=>array(
			'class'=>'CLogRouter',
			'routes'=>array(
				array(
					'class'=>'CFileLogRoute',
					'levels'=>'error, warning',
				),
				// uncomment the following to show log messages on web pages
				/*
				array(
					'class'=>'CWebLogRoute',
				),
				*/
			),
		),
	),

	// application-level parameters that can be accessed
	// using Yii::app()->params['paramName']
	'params'=>array(
		// this is used in contact page
		'adminEmail'=>'example@email.com',
	),
);


I have made a database on my ISP's server with a username and password that I have included in the main config file

What could be the problem?
0

#2 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:07 PM

The problem could be that the db server is not localhost, or it could be that it requires you to specify a port number.
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#3 User is offline   kingcharles 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 13-March 13

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:39 PM

View Postjacmoe, on 16 May 2013 - 07:07 PM, said:

The problem could be that the db server is not localhost, or it could be that it requires you to specify a port number.

Thanks very much, this is a question I should have asked of my ISP. This is my first time to put any web development on a live server. I'm such a noob. Thanks again and I am hooked on yii framework
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users