Arabic Text Display Issue

Hi All,

I am new to Yii application development, i ran into the issue of the arabic text display issue. I am getting all the text from database and i have tried to display it using the following code,

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="removed the link because its my first post:P" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />

<meta name="language" content="en" />

<!-- Set the viewport width to device width for mobile -->

</head>

<body>

<?php

$conn = mysqli_connect("localhost","username","password","some database") or die ("connection error : " . mysqli_error());

$result = mysqli_query($conn,"SELECT * FROM my_table WHERE field = 'value'");

while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result))

{

echo $row['title'] . " ::  " . $row['description'];

echo "<br>";

}

mysqli_close($conn);

?>

</body>

</html>

Now the above code display arabic as it should be doing, when i try the same approach using Yii application, it shows some weird characters. I have added the character set information in /layout/main.php but no use.

I would love to hear a solution ,

Thanks

Please show the code you tried in Yii

Well the whole view is quite big file, i can’t paste all the code here but let me give you a brief work flow.

1. Made a controller that fetches information using MyModel::model()->find();

2. In this->render() method i am sending the information using the variable called $data.

3. I am using echo to print the information which i get from the controller like

echo $data->title . " : : " . $data->description;

Now the default website is in english, but i want to show the following text in arabic, as it is by default in arabic. So tell me what can i do approach this.

Are you saying that when [font=“Courier New”]$data->title[/font] contains Arabic text, it doesn’t display correctly in your url?