Extension interacting with database

Hi everybody,

I am new to Yii and want to know how I can create an extension which will interact with the backend database. For example, a simple extension containing Add,Update,Delete functionality which anyone can use in their application.

I am not getting where to put the 3 parts of the MVC pattern which you get after running the CRUD yiic shell command.

Most of the extensions currently available are related to UI. Can anybody help me for this? Thank you. :D

Just use this:

application.extensions.myextension.models

application.extensions.myextension.views

the controller must extend from CExtController.

What sebas said is correct.

Also, if you do not intend to share your code, you don't need to package them into extensions.

Hi sebas  :D,

Thanks for quick reply. But I have some problem. Here is what I did.

I just ran the yiic CRUD command on simple 'employee' table in database which gave me the model,views and EmployeeController. As you said I placed the model class in 'models' and 5 views in 'views' folder under the extensions/employee (name of extension) folder. I also extend EmployeeController  from CExtController and place it under 'employee' folder.

Now, I want to place this extension in some other view, say MyView.php which is in default 'site' views. For that I wrote one php class which is as follows and I put it in the extension directory 'employee' along with EmployeeController:

<?php

class EmpExtRender extends CWidget

{

public function run()

{

$class=Yii::import(&#039;application.extensions.employee.models.employee&#039;);

$identity=new $class();

$this-&gt;renderFile(&#039;D:\xampp\htdocs\testdrive\protected\extensions\employee\views\show.php&#039;,array(&#039;employee&#039;=&gt;$identity));

}

}

?>