Automated Model's Date Update Behaviors

I need to updated my model’s two columns (hit_count and modification_date). I know, that the best solution to achieve this, is to use model’s behaviors, but I’m fairly new to them, so I have some small doubts.

Base question for hit_count is, why should I use behaviors at all? Isn’t below form quicker than writing own behavior:

$model = $this->loadModel($id);

if($model != null)

{

++$model->hits;

$model->save();

$this->render('view', array('model'=>$model));

}

[size=“2”]For modification_date question is quite similar. What is the reason for using behavior? Why can’t I use MySQL’s [/size][size=“2”]build[/size][size=“2”]-in [/size][size=“2”]functionality[/size][size=“2”] of declaring “on_update CURRENT TIMESTAMP” attribute for column? Isn’t it faster doing this in DB?[/size]

Generally, behaviors allow the addition of methods to an object. I am not sure why you are mentioning behaviors here at all as you are working with attributes. Did you mean events? What you are trying to achieve is more suitable for a beforeSave() event but there is nothing wrong in achieving it your way. :)

Thanks for your ideas…

Because automatic update of model’s creation / update timestamp has ben solved in core Yii using behaviors --> CTimestampBehavior.

I know, that this particular issue can be solved many ways. Some of them I mentioned in my post. However, I assume, that core Yii is coded by one of the best PHP developers around. If they (core Yii dev team) decided, that this functionality should solved using behaviors, then I assume, that this is best practice / best available technique.

But I’m still wonder, if solving this on DB side (i.e. using mentioned MySQL functionality) isn’t better / faster. I think, that yes, so I wonder, if in this particular case, CTimestampBehavior wasn’t developed as a helper class, not best practice?

[size="2"]