403 Access Forbidden On /framework - Windows

I’m sure this is something stupid. I am running xampp on windows 7, apache/mysql/php all running fine. Installed yii, copied all the files to c:\xampp\htdocs\yii.

I ran this:

C:\xampp\htdocs\yii\framework>yiic webapp mytestapp

Create a Web application under ‘C:\xampp\htdocs\yii\framework\mytestapp’? (yes|no) [no]:y

and it create the app for me, but localhost/yii/framework/mytestapp gives me a 403 error. So does localhost/yii/framework. (first post so I can’t include proper links, sorry)

I can browse the yii folders (except framework) and the demos (e.g. localhost/yii/demos/blog/) work fine.

Apache is running under the SYSTEM account, which has full control of all files under c:\, including framework directory.

Apache log says:

[Thu Mar 14 09:22:56 2013] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] client denied by server configuration: C:/xampp/htdocs/yii/framework

I’ve looked in the Apache config files and see nothing wrong (but I’m fairly new to Apache). I can’t figure out why /framework is special.

httpd.conf includes this:

<Directory "C:/xampp/htdocs">

Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI

AllowOverride All

### Order allow,deny -- note that this change made no difference

Order deny,allow

Allow from all

</Directory>

What dumbness have I committed?

It’s great that Yii prevents people from browsing the framework directories. :)

What you need to do is add C:\xampp\htdocs\yii\framework to your PATH.

Once you’ve done that, check that you can run yiic from anywhere.

Now, you need to go to C:\xampp\htdocs and run yiic webapp mytestapp

[i]

[/i]

That should create a ‘mytestapp’ directory in C:\xampp\htdocs, which is what you want.

Thanks for the clue. I didn’t realize that yiic wanted to create the app in the current directory.

But I still get a 403 on the new app, in localhost/mytestapp.

It’s working now. But I don’t know why.